Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Suspension/Brakes/Wheels/Tires (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f185/)
-   -   Tire prssure sensors in aftermarket wheels (replicas) (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f185/tire-prssure-sensors-in-aftermarket-wheels-replicas-56552.html)

z3ro0 03-15-2013 11:12 AM

Tire prssure sensors in aftermarket wheels (replicas)
 
Just wanted to see how many of you with aftermarket wheels are using your tps in them..

I'm asking this cuz (not sure if its true or not) when my 05 WK was getting serviced the parts manager told me that if use a bigger tire other than what suppose to be used that the tps's will flash "needs service" on the cluster..

I'm about to put on my 20" replicas and wanted to see if I should just leave out the sensors and use the extra money on tires... Or get the sensors..

Kinda suxs cuz in my gf Compass you can see all the psi in the tires.. But in my GC, I have a flashing light..

Any thoughts..

Isaac

Anon155 03-15-2013 11:27 AM

Re: Tire prssure sensors in aftermarket wheels (replicas)
 
I dont have aftermarket wheels, but i do have JK moab wheels. With no sensors you will get a constant beeping and light flashing on the dash. I believe it's in 5-10 min intervals. The tpms is a safety feature and there is NO way to turn it off. Other than using a programmer (superchips, etc), you're able to raise or lower the tire pressure minimum or turn it off completely with the offroad package. I installed some 2012 jeep wheels that had the newer 413mhz frequency installed rather than the 315mhz installed like on our 05's. I got the light and chime every now and again, but with the radio on you hardly noticed it. If you still have your stock sensors, move them over to your new wheels. If not, you can find them on rockauto.com for about 40-60 bucks a piece. That's what I had to do since I sold my stock wheels and tires quickly after I bought the new ones. IMO it's easier to just have them in there.

z3ro0 03-16-2013 04:38 AM

Re: Tire prssure sensors in aftermarket wheels (replicas)
 
Ah that suxs and I was just gonna ask to see if it could be disabled..

Thanxs bro.. Think I'll just get some new ones for justforjeeps..

Isaac

therock2 03-16-2013 12:35 PM

Re: Tire prssure sensors in aftermarket wheels (replicas)
 
I've got new TPMS on my 20" replicas and have not been able to disable the Service Tire Pressure Sytem warning that comes on every few miles down the road. I can still see tire pressure in each tire but I wish there was a way to turn the warning off. The dealer recommended putting at least 3 pounds more pressure in each tire over what is indicated on the sticker on the driver's door but this didn't correct the problem. I guess I'll just have to live with it.

Anon155 03-16-2013 10:59 PM

Re: Tire prssure sensors in aftermarket wheels (replicas)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by therock2 (Post 781629)
I've got new TPMS on my 20" replicas and have not been able to disable the Service Tire Pressure Sytem warning that comes on every few miles down the road. I can still see tire pressure in each tire but I wish there was a way to turn the warning off. The dealer recommended putting at least 3 pounds more pressure in each tire over what is indicated on the sticker on the driver's door but this didn't correct the problem. I guess I'll just have to live with it.

Did you check your spare tire? It doesn't show the pressure for it on the Evic display, but if it's low it would cause the warning light to go off. Or you could have a bad sensor in one of the wheels, but the dealer should have been able to check that.

therock2 03-18-2013 11:53 AM

Re: Tire prssure sensors in aftermarket wheels (replicas)
 
Good call Anon155. I went to Discount Tire this morning and found out there was only 18 pounds of pressure in the spare tire. They said it should reset itself in a day or so.

antsjeep 03-18-2013 06:37 PM

Re: Tire prssure sensors in aftermarket wheels (replicas)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by z3ro0 (Post 780956)
Just wanted to see how many of you with aftermarket wheels are using your tps in them..

I'm asking this cuz (not sure if its true or not) when my 05 WK was getting serviced the parts manager told me that if use a bigger tire other than what suppose to be used that the tps's will flash "needs service" on the cluster..

I'm about to put on my 20" replicas and wanted to see if I should just leave out the sensors and use the extra money on tires... Or get the sensors..

Kinda suxs cuz in my gf Compass you can see all the psi in the tires.. But in my GC, I have a flashing light..

Any thoughts..

Isaac

Do it right and order new sensors.

antsjeep 03-18-2013 06:40 PM

Re: Tire prssure sensors in aftermarket wheels (replicas)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by therock2 (Post 781629)
I've got new TPMS on my 20" replicas and have not been able to disable the Service Tire Pressure Sytem warning that comes on every few miles down the road. I can still see tire pressure in each tire but I wish there was a way to turn the warning off. The dealer recommended putting at least 3 pounds more pressure in each tire over what is indicated on the sticker on the driver's door but this didn't correct the problem. I guess I'll just have to live with it.


What PSI do your 20's call for? Max pressure that is.

therock2 03-19-2013 09:32 AM

Re: Tire prssure sensors in aftermarket wheels (replicas)
 
Max is 40 psi. I keep them at about 35 psi.

HemiDawg 03-19-2013 10:29 AM

My stock sensors went right in to my Viper reps and work fine with no issues


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

4.whoa 03-21-2013 11:19 AM

Re: Tire prssure sensors in aftermarket wheels (replicas)
 
FWIW : if you are running real low pro tires, you should get different sensors. I have 285/30/22's - read very short sidewall. my tire shop wouldnt put my stock sensors in.said on a bad pothole they could be smashed :eek: he said they make lo-pro sensors for that, but I just left them out this time around.

z3ro0 03-21-2013 03:41 PM

Re: Tire prssure sensors in aftermarket wheels (replicas)
 
Coo info guys.. Gonna be running a 45 or 50 series tires on them.. It just my cruiser :lol:..


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community