Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Troubleshooting/Problems (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f203/)
-   -   Purchasing a Laredo trans issues (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f203/purchasing-a-laredo-trans-issues-57318.html)

hoffmanestates 03-27-2013 05:38 PM

Purchasing a Laredo trans issues

I am.buying. a Laredo from my boss, for $400 it had a engine put.in by a fellow mechanic, body has 200k+ motor has 140k total, well the issue it has is that when ya do a on/off freeway ramp or a sharp/brisk turn while driving it pops out of gear. I my self being a mechanic i can't figure it out besides it being a t.c or trans internally.
Any help insight input

Frango100 03-27-2013 07:44 PM

Re: Purchasing a Laredo trans issues

42RE or 5-45 RFE? Does the gearshift handle move out of its detend, or does it seems to.be in Neutral?

Frango100 03-27-2013 07:47 PM

Did you check the fluid level?

hoffmanestates 03-27-2013 08:00 PM

I haven't seen it yet but that's the word from the mechanic that put the motor in...... what if the gear selector does move what.could it be? Or what if it doesn't move but still pops out of gear? I am guessing 42re as its a I6

Sent from my LG-P999 using Tapatalk 2

Frango100 03-27-2013 08:09 PM

If the gear selector moves, the problem probably is the spring from the detent plate. With I6 it should have the 42RE. Don' t know that tranny internally, but should have the detent plate. Are you sure the fluid level is not too low, because that would cause air going into the pump and clutch/ band will release and the gear will be lost.

hoffmanestates 03-28-2013 05:37 AM

Now if lube us low. And lets say him driving this for a month or two and this happening daily, its possibly fubared inside. Ans if its the defend, great its all inside the trans.

Frango100 03-28-2013 07:35 AM