Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Troubleshooting/Problems (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f181/)
-   -   Shouldn't TPMS light come on if the wheels don't have sensors? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f181/shouldnt-tpms-light-come-on-if-the-wheels-dont-have-sensors-57423.html)

dcmski 03-29-2013 04:41 PM

Shouldn't TPMS light come on if the wheels don't have sensors?
 
1 Attachment(s)
I bought second hand Sahara wheels and popped them on today. Interestingly my TPMS light did not come on.

I expected the warning light right off the bat because A) I don't think these wheels even have TPMS sensors as the valve stems look like the old school rubber ones and B) I thought the Wrangler used a 315mhz instead of 433 like my WK.
I did notice from WKjeeps.com that the export WK's used 433 since 2005 unlike US models that went to 433 in 2008. Maybe the export Wranglers used 433 too????

I then wondered if maybe the wheels do have sensors and by chance are 433, so I dropped a tire down to 25 and drove above 20mph and still no light.

Any ideas?

Anon155 03-30-2013 10:36 AM

Re: Shouldn't TPMS light come on if the wheels don't have sensors?
 
Do you have a laredo or limited? I'm assuming you looked on the Evic display to check for the tire pressure's showing up on the screen? I have an 05 WK and put 2012 rubicon wheels and tires with the 433mhz. They have the black rubber valve stems as well. Jeep switched to 433 on wranglers in 2010 I believe. My light used to go off every 10 mins or so. But never really at start up. You need to drive it for a few miles before it will. I needed the 315mhz and didn't know they switched them lol. Depending on what year your wrangler wheels are, they could very well have the 433mhz. Only way to know for sure is to air your wheel all the way down and pop the seal where the valve stem is. You can check to see if the tpms sensors are still in there. Let us know what you find out!

Bikemobile 03-30-2013 05:18 PM

Re: Shouldn't TPMS light come on if the wheels don't have sensors?
 
Has someone removed the tpms feature with a programmer?

dcmski 03-30-2013 07:04 PM

Re: Shouldn't TPMS light come on if the wheels don't have sensors?
 
So I emailed the guy who sold me the wheels and tires and he said he took the TPMS sensors out of the wheels for his new wheels.

I have a Laredo so it's just the warning light, not the display of all 4 tire pressures. Maybe this less sophisticated TPMS doesn't know that there are not 5 sensors (including the spare) and as long as the spare is reading in range I won't get the warning light?????

Bikemobile 03-30-2013 10:08 PM

Re: Shouldn't TPMS light come on if the wheels don't have sensors?
 
Ive had one sensor break off completely in the wheel on my laredo. The light came on and dinged at startup. I had the sensor removed and ran it that way until my new sensor came in the mail. That whole time the light was on.

I wish it was easier to disable.

4.whoa 03-31-2013 11:23 AM

Re: Shouldn't TPMS light come on if the wheels don't have sensors?
 
My rims don't have them but my spare does. my light will blink a few times and ding the bell, here & there but it doesn't just stay on.

BigTicket13 03-31-2013 11:54 AM

Re: Shouldn't TPMS light come on if the wheels don't have sensors?
 
I have 2009 Wrangler Moab RIms on my 05 Limited and the light will come on here and there after about 15 minutes or so of driving and sometimes at startup.

I was told though that the wheels I got do have the sensors. Should I swap out the sensors from my limited wheels to theses are can the Moabs be programmed to read each other?

Anon155 04-02-2013 09:23 PM

Re: Shouldn't TPMS light come on if the wheels don't have sensors?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigTicket13 (Post 792666)
I have 2009 Wrangler Moab RIms on my 05 Limited and the light will come on here and there after about 15 minutes or so of driving and sometimes at startup.

I was told though that the wheels I got do have the sensors. Should I swap out the sensors from my limited wheels to theses are can the Moabs be programmed to read each other?

Your jeep should be able to detect the sensors if they are in there. If your moab wheels have the sensors, then they should pick up while driving for a few miles automatically. They might not have them though or could be the wrong frequency like mine were. I would have the sensors transferred from your limited wheels. That would be the easiest option, and your guaranteed that they work. Or you could buy new sensors for the moabs from rock auto.com or a similar website.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community