Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio/Visual/Navigation (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/)
-   -   730 RHR Uconnect Will not work after crossing US Border!! (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/730-rhr-uconnect-will-not-work-after-crossing-us-border-57992.html)

darkdoom 04-08-2013 12:30 PM

730 RHR Uconnect Will not work after crossing US Border!!
 
To all the people that will like to travel from the US to Mexico or other countries, the UCONNECT SYSTEM will not work and shut-down and reset constantly!!!!

Called Uconnect and they explained that i would have to purchase a uconnect system for the Region of Mexico for it to work!!! $2,637 USD for a Mexico system to listen to radio, without GPS and or hands free working!!!!

This is incredible and this is not right. I understand purchasing different CD's with various maps but the controls should work when travelling outside the US!!!

I have gone to 2 local dealerships in Mexico to help troubleshoot the issue and they have no solution. Called the San Antonio dealership where I purchased the the 2013 Jeep Overland with the 730 RHR uconnect system and they also have no solution at the moment (still investigating). Called Uconnect directly and they have no solution but only to buy another unit and replace it when crossing borders!!!!!! (Absolutely unheard of).

Does anyone have a fix or solution to this issue or to change region settings in the uconnect system without having to buy a new system??

Darkdoom.

JoeSchmoe007 04-09-2013 08:50 PM

Re: 730 RHR Uconnect Will not work after crossing US Border!!
 
This is insane. I can understand GPS Navigation not working due to lack of maps, but how can this possibly affect regular radio and Bluetooth?

jacko15 04-09-2013 09:38 PM

Re: 730 RHR Uconnect Will not work after crossing US Border!!
 
Wonder if this happens in Canada too. I live not far from the border and travel there. Anyone take their JGC to Canada?

darkdoom 04-09-2013 09:46 PM

I talked to the Supervisor of Uconnect today and still they were not certain why it isn't working. I will have to drive 12 hours and return the vehicle back to the dealership in San Antonio, Texas to see if they can resolve the issue. I also have researched and found out that even in Mexico it is the same Region. They also told me that even different states might cause the similar issues. I strongly believe there is something wrong with the hard drive and the uconnect unit. I don't think regions will make a difference with hands free and voice recognition functions. I will keep you posted.

Darkdoom

jacko15 04-09-2013 09:57 PM

Re: 730 RHR Uconnect Will not work after crossing US Border!!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by darkdoom (Post 800092)
I will keep you posted.

Darkdoom

Please do! This is getting curiouser and curiouser.

Debauch 04-10-2013 10:16 AM

Re: 730 RHR Uconnect Will not work after crossing US Border!!
 
Try dumbing down the system as much as possible:

1. Change the clock to "User Clock" instead of GPS
2. Turn off the Sirius Traffic and traffic alerts
3. Under Nav settings (I don't see a way to turn the Nav off) change the default Country to Mexico

I'm not sure if these would do anything but it seems logical that dumbing down the system would help narrow the problem down.

Good luck.

darkdoom 04-10-2013 10:21 AM

Excellent points and they make sense. I will do exactly that to see if anything changes.
Thanks alot,
Darkdoom.

darkdoom 04-10-2013 11:43 AM

Turned clock setting to user clock. Do you know how to turn off the travel link?

Thanks,
Darkdoom

Debauch 04-10-2013 01:49 PM

Re: 730 RHR Uconnect Will not work after crossing US Border!!
 
I don't know if there's a way to turn Travel Link off.

You can can turn off Sirus Traffic though. From Menu, select "Sirius Traffic" then "Setup".

darkdoom 04-11-2013 11:14 AM

Re: 730 RHR Uconnect Will not work after crossing US Border!!
 
Tried to Dumbing down the system as much as possible and the issue still occurs. Looks like I have no other alternative at the moment but to bring back the vehicle to Texas from Mexico.

Thanks for the advise though.

darkdoom 05-02-2013 03:20 PM

Re: 730 RHR Uconnect Will not work after crossing US Border!!
 
Brought the vehicle back to Texas and sure enough they had to replace the uconnect system. It was defective. the jeep is on its way back to Mexico and I will test it and keep you posted.

Mauryx 06-28-2013 02:59 PM

Re: 730 RHR Uconnect Will not work after crossing US Border!!
 
that's very strange, I live in Mexico and I crossed to America and all my controls work, even my Jeep 2011, Limited, has maps of Mexico (full) and the United States and Canada

In Mexico you can buy the complete unit 430 at $ 1.200 usd and worked in both countries.

Mauricio-
Ensenada,Baja, Mexico


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community