Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Troubleshooting/Problems (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f203/)
-   -   Clunk in Rear Differential (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f203/clunk-in-rear-differential-58468.html)

redhawks2 04-15-2013 06:40 PM

Clunk in Rear Differential

I have a '99 WJ with only 56K miles on it. bought it last week. I have noticed that there is a definite clunk from the rear after stopping while still in drive. I have the 4.7 V8 and Quadra TracII. I am new to this system. The clunk occurs after being stopped for about 5 seconds but the time lapse varies from two seconds to about 20 seconds. The clunk doesn't happen at any other time. When it does happen I can feel it as well as hear it.
Any info would be appreciated.
Thanks

redhawks2 04-16-2013 07:36 PM

Re: Clunk in Read Differential

I'm rethinking the noise and it may be the transfer case I suppose and My hearing is not that great. I just can't figure out what could be making the clunk noise after the car has come to a complete stop and has been idling at a stop light for several seconds since nothing should be moving. Makes no sense to me. The clunk noise does not happen if I shift into neutral before I come to a complete stop and doesn't happen when I put the trans back into gear.

Frango100 04-16-2013 09:50 PM

Thinking about it, i had something alike happening after my transmission rebuild. It was finally the transmission shifting from 1st gear into 2nd gear with the jeep standing still.
There are 5 pressure switches in the TRS/solenoid assy which are used as a feedback signal to the TCM. When the TCM selects a gear, the pressure switch shows the TCM that the pressure is there.