Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f50/)
-   -   Is it possible.... (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f50/is-it-possible-5942.html)

00wj 01-27-2010 03:32 PM

Is it possible....
 
to connect these two wires directly? instead of useing the power adapter :confused:

i hate seeing the wires and want to hide them nicely ;)

http://i659.photobucket.com/albums/u...s/DSCN2043.jpg


http://i659.photobucket.com/albums/u...s/DSCN2042.jpg

B.P.O.D 01-27-2010 03:38 PM

Re: Is it possible....
 
are they both usb> if so i'm guessing they will be using 5.5 DC power

00wj 01-27-2010 03:44 PM

Re: Is it possible....
 
yeah, they are both usb
i also have one thats not usb for the gps i want to connect direct

B.P.O.D 01-27-2010 03:47 PM

Re: Is it possible....
 
technically i believe you should be able to solder them together(the 2 usb ones) but i'm not 100% sure on it...

does the gps one need 12v?

saleen032 01-27-2010 03:51 PM

Re: Is it possible....
 
Why dont you just hide the adapter behind the dash someplace...If you wanted to hook up the wires directly, you would have to step down the voltage somehow......Easier to just hide the adapter...

00wj 01-27-2010 03:58 PM

Re: Is it possible....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by B.P.O.D (Post 139447)
technically i believe you should be able to solder them together(the 2 usb ones) but i'm not 100% sure on it...

does the gps one need 12v?

really? and then to what would i connect them 2?

ill go check right now

00wj 01-27-2010 03:59 PM

Re: Is it possible....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by saleen032 (Post 139448)
Why dont you just hide the adapter behind the dash someplace...If you wanted to hook up the wires directly, you would have to step down the voltage somehow......Easier to just hide the adapter...

how can i hide the adapter with it still being connected?

00wj 01-27-2010 04:04 PM

Re: Is it possible....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by B.P.O.D (Post 139447)

does the gps one need 12v?

input: 10-30v
output: 5.25-4.9v

B.P.O.D 01-27-2010 04:29 PM

Re: Is it possible....
 
ok well that charger def puts out that much so you should be able to... gotta read more into it... not sure if the power will be changed if you put 3 wires together.. or if all 3 positive wires will get the same current

00wj 01-27-2010 04:34 PM

Re: Is it possible....
 
haha ok
know of any website i could also read up on?

B.P.O.D 01-27-2010 04:41 PM

Re: Is it possible....
 
i would say to google it... ill check for ya too:)

00wj 01-27-2010 04:42 PM

Re: Is it possible....
 
Thanks! I really apreciate the help


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community