Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f107/)
-   -   TPMS Issue (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f107/tpms-issue-60507.html)

vzwman 05-25-2013 06:44 PM

TPMS Issue
 
I have new 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland that has the premium TPMS monitoring system on it. The factory rims, tires and TPMS sensors that come on it were the hyper-silver rims. I bought another complete OEM factory set of chrome rims, tires and TPMS sensors. The TPMS monitoring system was working just fine before I replaced the rims. After I put the new OEM factory chrome rims on the vehicle now the TPMS has a system fault and none of the 4 tires are showing the air pressure. I was told that this would not be an issue being that all the TPMS units in the new rims were the OEM factory 433 Mhz units with part number 56029398AB just like the ones in the rims that came off the vehicle. He told me that after I drove it for about 20 mins that they would read and start working. This appears not to be the case. My question is am I going to need to take the vehicle back to the Jeep dealer and have them to put the system onto retrain (Reprogrammed) to be able to get these other ones to work? Any help someone can provide would be grateful.

2012 Summit 05-26-2013 06:11 AM

Re: TPMS Issue
 
The OEM TPM's should not need to be programmed. I just purchased and installed the same part # 56029398AB on 4 new wheels and the system recognized them within 10 minutes of driving.

Check with the vendor who sold you the wheel/tire package. When shopping for my TPM's, I noticed some sellers have aftermarket sensors and list the OEM part number as an interchange number.

vzwman 05-26-2013 01:00 PM

Re: TPMS Issue
 
Thanks for the reply. I think you are 100% on the vender using an aftermarket sensor. I am going to call them in the morning and see what type they used. I reinstalled my other rims that come on the vehicle and after about 5 mins of driving the fault cleared and all 4 TPMS units are now reporting air pressure. Thanks again. Steve

2012 Summit 05-26-2013 01:30 PM

Re: TPMS Issue
 
Good luck. I have heard about problems with some aftermarket sensors. If you do have to replace them, there are some good deals on ebay such as:

4 New Chrysler Dodge Jeep TPMS 56029398AB 433MHz Tire Pressure Sensors | eBay


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community