Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Technical Tips/DIY/How-To (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f187/)
-   -   2007 wk clunk when slowing down...? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f187/2007-wk-clunk-when-slowing-down-62867.html)

oidale 07-15-2013 04:47 PM

2007 wk clunk when slowing down...?

Hello, im a newbie...i bought my 2007 grand cherokee 4x4 3.7 about 4 months ago. About three weeks ago i started to feel a slight braking when i depress the accelerator pedal along with a / what feels like a clunk and a down shift...this happens once in a while after being in overdrive for a short time. Also when backing out of a parking spot and turning the wheel then put into drive, i will go to accelerate but there will be a slight slippage then it grabs and goes forward. Only happens when the wheels are turned.

Not sure if the two are related. The jeep drives great and shifts perfect. I have been trying to see if its possible to do a tranny fluid and filter change at home since there isnt any dip stick just an opened tube...

Thanks in advance.

oidale 08-12-2013 05:54 PM

Re: 2007 wk clunk when slowing down...?

Anyone?

arwood56 12-18-2013 11:58 AM

Most likely the Isolation Bushings on the front differential are split. The trans is down shifting and rotating the diff as it does it. I just did mine, now the R to D and downshift "clunk" is gone.

oidale 12-18-2013 10:44 PM

How do you go about fixing it? What parts would I have to order? Is it pretty straight forward, driveway fix or what would I need to get it resolved? Thanks for the response. Hope to hear from you and how you went about getting yours rectified...

arwood56 12-19-2013 07:53 AM

3 Attachment(s)
I don't know about the slippage but the "clunk" going from R to D and down shift is the bushings, very common.