Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK2 - (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f73/)
-   -   Need Advice - Side Steps or Not (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f73/need-advice-side-steps-or-not-63327.html)

JeepProspect 07-26-2013 09:07 AM

Need Advice - Side Steps or Not

I am not planning to lease the dream Jeep until early next year, and by that time, there will most likely be a 4 or 5 month back order. I have been reading this forum getting ideas, advice, research, and knowledge, as I am new to off-roading. I intend to get rock rails on lease, or shortly thereafter. My wife is 4'11.5" and has arthritis in the knees. She has difficulty getting in and out of most SUV's and trucks. We currently have a Toyota Tacoma Prerunner (2 wheel drive on 4 wheel frame and suspension) and she must use the side step to get in and out. My question is should I get side steps with the rock rails? I will have the ORAII package with QL. I do not know just how low Jeep will go and if she will need them or not. Any insight to this will be helpful.

berk483 07-26-2013 10:00 AM

Re: Need Advice - Side Steps or Not

Quote:

Originally Posted by JeepProspect (Post 864968)
My question is should I get side steps with the rock rails? I will have the ORAII package with QL. I do not know just how low Jeep will go and if she will need them or not. Any insight to this will be helpful.

If I am reading that correctly, you cannot put side steps and rock rails on at the same time. It's one or the other as they use some of the same attachment points. Rock rails alone may not give her enough purchase to comfortably get in as they don't stick out very far. Many say the same with the side steps, at least the mopar ones, because there really isnt a wide area to put your foot on. However I like them as I think they look good on it and I have gotten used to the space provided.