Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK2 - (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f73/)
-   -   Is there supposed to be ambient lighting in the cupholders? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f73/is-there-supposed-to-be-ambient-lighting-in-the-cupholders-63466.html)

hatzq68 07-29-2013 01:51 PM

Is there supposed to be ambient lighting in the cupholders?
 
Hi, I have a 2014 Grand Cherokee Laredo E. There is a white line at the top of the cupholders that I would expect to light up with the ambient lighting, but does not light up in my truck. Does it light up in others? Is there a way to get lighting in there?

Thanks,

Donny

rm1515 07-29-2013 01:56 PM

Re: Is there supposed to be ambient lighting in the cupholders?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by hatzq68 (Post 866573)
Hi, I have a 2014 Grand Cherokee Laredo E. There is a white line at the top of the cupholders that I would expect to light up with the ambient lighting, but does not light up in my truck. Does it light up in others? Is there a way to get lighting in there?

Thanks,

Donny



Mine lights up blue like around the radio/climate control dials...

Specx 07-29-2013 02:28 PM

Re: Is there supposed to be ambient lighting in the cupholders?
 
Same here, I can't imagine they would take that off the Laredo models.

StaticFX 07-29-2013 02:34 PM

Re: Is there supposed to be ambient lighting in the cupholders?
 
Just checked
standard feature "Illuminated Cup Holders"

yep they should light up.


everything else light up ok?

hatzq68 07-29-2013 02:41 PM

Re: Is there supposed to be ambient lighting in the cupholders?
 
All the dials on the center console light up, the door handles light up, just nothing in the cupholders. Is it a separate fuse?

RFF111 07-29-2013 03:01 PM

Re: Is there supposed to be ambient lighting in the cupholders?
 
I have a '14 Overland and my cup holders do NOT light up either...

RFF111 07-29-2013 03:06 PM

Re: Is there supposed to be ambient lighting in the cupholders?
 
Correction, the DO light up. I just checked again

bill_de 07-29-2013 03:31 PM

Re: Is there supposed to be ambient lighting in the cupholders?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by RFF111 (Post 866620)
Correction, the DO light up. I just checked again

It is amazing how they put so many little features in car today that we don't even notice them. I'm thinking of keeping this vehicle a little longer than I usually do, just to make sure I don't miss anything. :)


---

adthebadstud 07-29-2013 03:47 PM

Re: Is there supposed to be ambient lighting in the cupholders?
 
Take it to a dealer, have them check to make sure the fuse is plugged in. My driver side rear door wasn't lighting up with the ambient lights and the dealership i took it to (different than the one i bought from) just said that something wasn't plugged in.

Tony407 07-29-2013 03:58 PM

Re: Is there supposed to be ambient lighting in the cupholders?
 
There's probably a connector for those under the shift bezel. It's pretty easy to take off. The top portion of the gear selector pops straight up and underneath is a torx bit screw (if I remember correctly) that once removed allows you to take the entire gear shift bezel off (use a pry tool to pop it up one section at a time). Check to see if the connector is plugged in.

Obviously the dealership would fix it for you under warranty, but if you're like me it's nice to fix these things yourself if you can.

Tony

weck 07-29-2013 04:40 PM

Re: Is there supposed to be ambient lighting in the cupholders?
 
Turn your headlight switch to on rather than leaving in auto and see if they light up then. There are also lights around the media center SD/USB slots that reportedly only light up if the headlight switch is actually in the ON position.

hatzq68 07-29-2013 04:57 PM

Re: Is there supposed to be ambient lighting in the cupholders?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Tony407 (Post 866645)
There's probably a connector for those under the shift bezel. It's pretty easy to take off. The top portion of the gear selector pops straight up and underneath is a torx bit screw (if I remember correctly) that once removed allows you to take the entire gear shift bezel off (use a pry tool to pop it up one section at a time). Check to see if the connector is plugged in.

Obviously the dealership would fix it for you under warranty, but if you're like me it's nice to fix these things yourself if you can.

Tony

Good advice. There was a connection undone. I plugged it back in and now all is working. Thanks.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community