Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f50/)
-   -   Adding amp to 2013 grand cherokee with factory Nav (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f50/adding-amp-to-2013-grand-cherokee-with-factory-nav-63485.html)

hardcorebowler 07-29-2013 09:10 PM

Adding amp to 2013 grand cherokee with factory Nav
 
Has anyone added a five channel amp or a four channel and a mono amp. If so where there any problems with noise or sound quality. I would like to keep the factory radio and all it's options, but crave more power with more low end bass. Had one shop tell me they can do it and would get great sound out of it another told me that without replacing the factory radio that you would have the chance of having engine and other noise problems. Would appreciate input on this. Thanks David

Newsomdee 08-06-2013 08:30 AM

I changed my speakers too infinity kappas and install an audiocontrol lc7i and amp sounds great so far.All with stock head unit.

Radknight 09-07-2013 05:23 AM

Re: Adding amp to 2013 grand cherokee with factory Nav
 
You have a few options. There are Amps that have high level speaker inputs. You can install a LOC or processor where you take the speaker inputs and it produces a corrected outputs. They have RCA outputs that you connect separate amps to in which you connect your subwoofer and speaker to. You can research the JBL MS8, Rockford Fosgate 3sixty.3, Alpine Imprint and the Audison Bit Ten. Then you have the Line Output Converters (LOC) as mentioned above but the processors are more advanced. Check out 'Amplified' on YouTube for a Audison install in a Jeep SRT8.

subbie09 09-07-2013 07:27 AM

I went with an Audiocontrol lc7i with Pdx v9 and focal speakers and stealthbox and it sounded good, but what made it sound amazing was spending the few extra dollars and upgrading the headunit to a 890HD. Now the music is crisp and clear, much better bc there is a direct clean path to the amp, with no interference.

Radknight 10-16-2013 05:27 AM

Re: Adding amp to 2013 grand cherokee with factory Nav
 
How's that PDX V9 Subbie? I'm looking at the PDX amps but wondering if I need something that good and thinking the MRV might suit. Someone mentioned to me that it may not handle mid bass too well. What's your take, especially with those Focals?

subbie09 10-16-2013 06:03 AM

Re: Adding amp to 2013 grand cherokee with factory Nav
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Radknight (Post 911554)
How's that PDX V9 Subbie? I'm looking at the PDX amps but wondering if I need something that good and thinking the MRV might suit. Someone mentioned to me that it may not handle mid bass too well. What's your take, especially with those Focals?

Handles everything just fine. I love the way it sounds with my Focals and Stealthbox. It has no problem powering all of them. And everything sounds even better since I upgraded my headunit also.

Radknight 10-16-2013 08:12 PM

Re: Adding amp to 2013 grand cherokee with factory Nav
 
Thanks. I bought the JBL MS-8 but haven't received my SRT yet which will have the 8.4n. I'm hoping I won't have to go down the route of adding a aftermarket HU to that just to get proper sound as it would mean losing a bit of functionality that goes with it. I suppose if if I have to, I will keep the stock HU and mount the aftermarket HU below it. Let hope it doesn't come down to that as I heard the MS8 works wonders.

cptab 01-14-2014 12:18 PM

Re: Adding amp to 2013 grand cherokee with factory Nav
 
Hi. I read your post and the replies with interest as I would like to upgrade my front and rear speakers and sub in my 2012 JGC Limited. Can you provide some advice and input? My broad question is, how did you handle the factory amp, center speaker and rear pillar speakers? The shop and an AudioControl rep recommended using a lc7i and EQS equalizer (I'm on board with the eq) . But some of this depends on what comes out of the factory amp.

If the rear door woofers and back pillar speakers/tweets run on one input, I may just replace the door speakers with two way coaxial speakers and disconnect the pillar speakers. If they are separate leads from the amp, can the wires be combined so I can get full range in back doors instead of just low frequency? Having coax in rear doors doors will enable me to benefit from new amp and equalizer. I assume the front door speakers are component. I plan to replace with a 6.5" component or 6.5" focal component. The equalizer will enable me to tweak the sound for better balance of mids and lows in front. (Factory set up doesn't do it for me)

Also, did you run your new Is your take more fun than ours after the factory amp or run the speakers directly to the new equipment? If the latter, duff you lose any functionality from the Uconnect system (e.g., navigation voice, etc?) Or dues that run completely out of the head unit?

So confused! Any advice and info is greatly appreciated. Pardon any typos...I'm using a phone.

jeepgclx 01-25-2014 04:22 AM

In oeder to get full range signal you need to use signals from front door speakers and tweeters and the sub. They are all separate coming out from the amp. I will be soing mine, will be using audison bit one with audison amp and hertz components

jeepgclx 01-25-2014 04:24 AM

And you have to take the signals after the factory amp , because it is a part of the headunit and without it volume control does not work. I have tried it

1stJeepGC 01-25-2014 08:48 AM

Re: Adding amp to 2013 grand cherokee with factory Nav
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jeepgclx (Post 965217)
In oeder to get full range signal you need to use signals from front door speakers and tweeters and the sub. They are all separate coming out from the amp. I will be soing mine, will be using audison bit one with audison amp and hertz components

Greetings,

Correct in summing the signals.

How are you going to still use the factory DSP for the surround sound effect and run the other channels straight into the BIT One with a hi-low converter for the center and maybe the rear pillar?

Best for now.:)

jeepgclx 01-25-2014 02:42 PM

I will not be using the other channels from the factory DSP. As long as I give a full range stereo signal to bit one (it has high inputs as you may already know) it can brake it down up to 8 different channels.
I am going to use a 6 channel audison amp, which has 4 channels + center channel and a sub.
The rear pillar surround speakers will be replaced with tweeters from the rear components.

And since I already had a 12" hertz sub from my old car, will be using that. The sub will go into the spare tire. Will post pics when done. It won't fit where the factory sub is.
Let me know if you have any ideas or suggestions.

:)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community