Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio/Visual/Navigation (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/)
-   -   Looking for tech data on 430N and how to start my new audio system??? help (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/looking-for-tech-data-on-430n-and-how-to-start-my-new-audio-system-help-63756.html)

mdef7611 08-06-2013 10:17 AM

Looking for tech data on 430N and how to start my new audio system??? help
 
hey guys new to the forum. I just got another 2011 JGC after my last one got crushed by a dump truck. Ill upload those pix later...pretty funny. Anyway i have the 430N HU and also have a crackle in the center speaker. I have a JL 300/4 and a 500/1 sitting around and wanted to use them. Question is do i have to get a processor to use it and replace the speakers, what is the output of my current HU, and if i can get away with replacing just my speakers what is the output of stock amp in the car so that i can just replace or know what parameters i have to stay inside of. Thank you so much. I have a laredo btw. Hope that helps and thanks alot!!!

jd31 08-06-2013 11:14 AM

Re: Looking for tech data on 430N and how to start my new audio system??? help
 
To use an aftermarket amp you'll need a line output converter. A lot of folks on the forum use the LC6i from Audio Control. Some users have had good results with the LC6i, others thought there was too much 'noise' in the signal and opted to replace the head unit.

If you already have the amps, I'd say use them. You could try a line output converter and see how it fares. If you're unhappy with the results your next move is to upgrade the head unit (I'm in the process of doing this myself).

The other option that you posed is to just replace the speakers. I think some have gone this route with decent success. One thing to note, however, is that the speakers in our Jeep are designed to work with our amp and head unit. Changing out speakers with different ohms and/or that are less efficient may not be ideal. If you decide to go this route I'd search this forum to see what others have done.

kkreit01 08-06-2013 01:23 PM

Re: Looking for tech data on 430N and how to start my new audio system??? help
 
Yes -- you'll need a processor, or at minimum the LC6i in order to sum the signals out of the OE Alpine amp. There is no full-range signal out of the OE amp, so replacing speakers does very little. The only speaker you can easily swap, is the center dash speaker. You could also purchase the PAC device -- which gives you RCA outs to your amps. However, it sits between the OE HU and amp, and you lose your EQ (bass, treble, and mid control is gone). This system is a major PITA to upgrade. I'm doing my Ram now. I used an LC6i, and am pleased with it. I now have a full-range signal going to my aftermarket amp. I have 0 noise/hiss/whine associated with it. I used shielded, in-wall speaker wire throughout -- which may have helped. Sure, if I had $800 to spend, I would have gotten the MS-8, and would have been more happy. However, for the $102 spent on the AC LC6i, I am very happy.

mdef7611 08-06-2013 02:29 PM

Re: Looking for tech data on 430N and how to start my new audio system??? help
 
ok so if i just pick up say a JL cleansweep and then through rca's connect it to my jl 300/4 and then maybe use my 500/1 for a sub( not sure if i want to lose the trunk space for a box.) then i should be good with just that. I just don''t want to get into a mess and screw up my headunit cause i dont want to change it. My brother had a TL and when he started messing with this headunit it locked him out and he had all of these headaches.....im trying to find the least path of resistance...not compete in a SQ or SPL comp. Thanks again for all the help guys

kkreit01 08-06-2013 03:59 PM

Re: Looking for tech data on 430N and how to start my new audio system??? help
 
If you buy the cleansweep, you'll also need the summing device: CL-SSI. You've now spent $400 (retail) for something that gets mediocre reviews on the audio forums. I beleive you lose your OE volume control once you add Cleansweep -- you now have to use theirs.

When I removed my - battery terminal, the 430N did appear to be locked when I turned the key back on. It was asking for a PIN -- which I did not have. I called RAM,and they didn't have it either. They stated you needed to pull the stereo to find it. However, when I actually started my truck, it was fine.

jeffreybehr 08-06-2013 04:42 PM

Re: Looking for tech data on 430N and how to start my new audio system??? help
 
The issues mentioned in these posts and others on this subject--and the dreadful sound quality of my 10-speaker, "premium" system--are what caused me to decide to replace my HU. I called Crutchfield*and chose a JVC-brand DVD receiver**, adapter cable, and installation kit. Initially I'll let the new HU drive the existing amp and speakers, but probably soon I'll have a fine, old, fabulous-sounding Alpine V12-series 4-channel amp (driven by the analog outs of the new HU) driving the two pairs of new front-channel speakers while the rear-door and D-pillar speakers and the SW are driven by the original digital poweramp.

Also, I'm prepared to install a new monoamp to drive the existing SW if there are level- or frequency-related problems with the original system.



* a little high priced, but these folk are knowledgeable and helpful
** a KW-ADV65BT

jd31 08-06-2013 07:27 PM

Re: Looking for tech data on 430N and how to start my new audio system??? help
 
I found something that speaks directly about the head unit situation signal it emits. Watch this video, which is video 5 of a 6 part series. Around the 9 min mark they test the signal from the factory head unit and show how it sends different signals to the different speakers. Pretty interesting.

Jeep Grand Cherokee Stereo System, Part 5 Soundman - Amplified #110 - YouTube


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community