Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f77/)
-   -   Tpms (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f77/tpms-6417.html)

abejjani4265 02-10-2010 09:59 AM

Tpms
 
i just had my tires replaced all 4 i used one of the old ones as the spare.
i took off from the tire shop yesterday and on my way home the TPMS light beeped and started blinking. checked all 4 tires nothing wrong. went back inside the light was off. drove for a while later and the light flashed again!!! WTF stopped at a gas station check air oressure all see @ 33psi (required pressure) i am going back to the tire place today what should i expect ?? did they screw up the TPMS in one of the tires ?? or they did not reset them or what ??any ideas ??? PLEASE HELP !!!!!!!!!!

PS: its an 07 cherokee laredo

DJ BoNiOmArIo 02-10-2010 10:09 AM

Re: Tpms
 
got ur spare ??? is it at the right pressure also ... remember there are 5 TPMS sensors ... also make sure they flashed it ...

worst case scenario

remove the negative terminal from battery wait 15 minutes step on brakes honk horn for a while then re-connect battery and should at least reset it and clear it

abejjani4265 02-10-2010 10:20 AM

Re: Tpms
 
what do you mean "make sure they flashed it " ?
sorry not very familiar with the terms :(

DJ BoNiOmArIo 02-10-2010 10:22 AM

Re: Tpms
 
after installing new tires or messing around with the tpms they have to hook it up to their computers and tell ur on board computer to reset itself to recognize the TPMS ...

try the cheap method first do it on ur own ... by removing the negative battery ...

other question do you have ur spare on the car ??? is it at the right pressure ?

abejjani4265 02-10-2010 10:25 AM

Re: Tpms
 
yeah the spare is on and yeah it is at the right pressure, am sure of that cause it was on before i changed the tires . i used the best out of the others as spare.

DJ BoNiOmArIo 02-10-2010 10:26 AM

Re: Tpms
 
try the battery method and let us know how that goes

abejjani4265 02-10-2010 10:28 AM

Re: Tpms
 
at work now :) i will as soon as i get out of here. and i will post what happens.
Thanks for your help.

Scottina06 02-10-2010 11:36 AM

Re: Tpms
 
you just need to drive a few minutes for the tpms to relearn. i just had my wheels switched out and it did the same thing.

Milous 02-10-2010 02:45 PM

Re: Tpms
 
The 4 road tires sensors self-learn their location, scan tool is not needed. But, the spare must be re-programmed by the dealer. Unhooking the battery will not help.

Scottina06 02-10-2010 02:53 PM

Re: Tpms
 
yeah....I dont have a spare though

Milous 02-10-2010 03:04 PM

Re: Tpms
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Scottina06 (Post 148374)
yeah....I dont have a spare though

But the OP does, and it appears that it was not reprogrammed...

abejjani4265 02-10-2010 09:15 PM

Re: Tpms
 
i did take the -ve and it did not change anything so i went back to the shop it seems that they broke one of the tpms and put it back thinking i would not notice. !!!
whats wrong with people ?!?!?!?
i gave them some #$@%n and they are gonna order one and replace it on friday.
i will keep you guyes posted...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community