Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/)
-   -   Huge Problem - Jeep only moves in Low (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/huge-problem-jeep-only-moves-in-low-6450.html)

Devilsmed98 02-11-2010 12:57 AM

Huge Problem - Jeep only moves in Low

Okay here's the situation: I'm parked in about 15 inches of wet snow. I turn the car on, hit the gas slowly my car starts to inch forward and BAM! Huge clunking noise, my Jeep rolls back into it's spot. I put it into drive, wheels don't spin. I put it into reverse, wheels still don't spin. I then proceed to dig out under the car and inspect everything. I HAVE NO EXPERIENCE WITH CARS OR THERE PARTS. I see what I'm guessing is an axle going to the rear, and as far as I can see a short one going to the front. In between these two is a box, which I am guessing is the transfer case. I have my friend put the car in drive which moves a little tiny arm on the side of the box, still no movement, then reverse, which moves the arm again. Still no movement.

I then try 4wd low. I put it in reverse, movement from rear tires only. I put it in drive, movement from rear tires only and I'm still stuck. Finally an hour later my friend comes with his F350, yanks me out. I drive a mile home in 4wd low going 15mph, still rear wheels only.

Can anyone tell me what this looks like to them? Any help would be appreciate. My guess is that I blew the transfer case? I don't know if that's even possible? Any help/advice/repair estimates/experiences are appreciated as I have no clue how to explain this to my parents.

Thanks in advance, Frank.

DJ BoNiOmArIo 02-11-2010 01:01 AM

Re: Huge Problem - Jeep only moves in Low

Welcome Frank what year and model Jeep you got lets start there and let the rest of the members chime in ... welcome by the way :D

Devilsmed98 02-11-2010 01:03 AM