Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Tech Tips DIY/How To (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f75/)
-   -   pcm install (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f75/pcm-install-64511.html)

fgmartyr 08-23-2013 02:26 AM

pcm install
 
I have a 2004 grand cherokee 4.0 that i am fixing to install a pcm into. My question is does the pcm have to be bolted directly to the firewall for grounding purposes?,or can i install rubber groments behind it to cut down on the vibration which could cause one to fault.

Frango100 08-23-2013 05:26 AM

Re: pcm install
 
There are two dedicated ground wires in the C1 connector (31and 32), but not sure if isolating the housing would be a good idea. If you really want to isolate it, i would put a ground wire to the casing.

lstowell 08-23-2013 01:59 PM

Re: pcm install
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by fgmartyr (Post 880905)
I have a 2004 grand cherokee 4.0 that i am fixing to install a pcm into. My question is does the pcm have to be bolted directly to the firewall for grounding purposes?,or can i install rubber groments behind it to cut down on the vibration which could cause one to fault.

If you isolate it, the only difference would be that you might want to run a small, short, ground strap from the case to the mount.

Since I dunno if mounting it to the body is done as an RFI protection, make it a short, wide, ground strap.

You might actually create more vibration if those rubber grommets allow it to slop around, unless you have something like silicone or similar. Not saying its a bad idea, but it could make things worse.

Gamma505 09-08-2013 03:42 PM

Re: pcm install
 
I has an old rubber mouse pad that I placed between the PCM and sheet metal mount site..no vibrations and happy ground.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community