Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WJ (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f51/)
-   -   Canbus, PCI Bus (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f51/canbus-pci-bus-64739.html)

bakpakr 08-28-2013 12:32 PM

Canbus, PCI Bus
 
I understand that my 2004 GC Limited uses the PCI Bus system and that in 2005 Jeep switched to the Canbus system.

As I have been told I can for the most part just pop out the old incandescent bulb and put an LED in it's place with no repercussions.

My question is will the PCI Bus in any way impact installation of any LED bulbs? Due to the lower power consumption with the LED's I want to avoid any problems.

Also can I use Canbus LED's? If I do what problems if any would I observe in their use?

Frango100 08-28-2013 03:28 PM

Re: Canbus, PCI Bus
 
The PCI bus is just a data bus in between several components (PCM, TCM, BCM, to mention a few). There is no light connected directly to the data bus.
So the data bus should not be the limiting factor for the use of LEDīs.

bakpakr 08-28-2013 05:14 PM

Thanks Frango

I was not sure if any illumination devices used the PCI. It is my understanding that the Canbus system has the capacity to detect inoperative lights. I was not sure if the PCI had the same capability.

As for canbus bulbs can i use them?

Frango100 08-28-2013 10:03 PM

Re: Canbus, PCI Bus
 
Never heard of canbus bulbs:confused:

Willx 08-28-2013 10:11 PM

Re: Canbus, PCI Bus
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bakpakr (Post 883953)
I understand that my 2004 GC Limited uses the PCI Bus system and that in 2005 Jeep switched to the Canbus system.

As I have been told I can for the most part just pop out the old incandescent bulb and put an LED in it's place with no repercussions.

My question is will the PCI Bus in any way impact installation of any LED bulbs? Due to the lower power consumption with the LED's I want to avoid any problems.

Also can I use Canbus LED's? If I do what problems if any would I observe in their use?

The switcher for the turn signals might not like the loading and you may get a rapid turn signal or no blink at all. This can be corrected with a resistor but check with the LED manufacturer for specs.

bakpakr 08-28-2013 10:33 PM

Re: Canbus, PCI Bus
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Frango100 (Post 884280)
Never heard of canbus bulbs:confused:

Here is an example of one for my cargo light;

569 578 212-2 9W CREE Canbus LED Festoon Bulb

bakpakr 08-28-2013 10:38 PM

Re: Canbus, PCI Bus
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Willx (Post 884283)
The switcher for the turn signals might not like the loading and you may get a rapid turn signal or no blink at all. This can be corrected with a resistor but check with the LED manufacturer for specs.

Yea from everything I am finding the turn signals and four ways may not like LED's without either a resister or flasher replace. I just want to make sure that I don't get any blips in the computer with LED's. All the info and advice I have been receiving leads me to believe the electrical system and the computer will not care if I use LED's.

TJXJWJ 08-29-2013 07:24 AM

I've got regular LEDs all over the interior and exterior. I had to add resistors to the signal bulbs and one inside (rear cargo bulb). Everything works as it should and its been like that for probably 2 years now.

bakpakr 08-29-2013 12:16 PM

Re: Canbus, PCI Bus
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by TJXJWJ (Post 884403)
I've got regular LEDs all over the interior and exterior. I had to add resistors to the signal bulbs and one inside (rear cargo bulb). Everything works as it should and its been like that for probably 2 years now.

Excellent, Thanks

Could you please tell me why you had to add a resistor to the rear cargo?

I also plan on changing all bulbs to LED's with the exception of the headlights both high and low. I am still on the fence with the fog lights. I may go HID with them as well as my headlights.

Like I said I do not want to modify the existing wiring harness in any way. What I plan is if I need any resisters or other components to get the stock operation. I will insert them in the component or I will construct an extension with the proper connectors and the needed component. That way I can just plug it in between the aftermarket component and the stock wiring harness. That way if I ever decide to revert to the stock configuration it is just a matter of unplugging and plugging in the stock components.

TJXJWJ 08-29-2013 02:17 PM

Re: Canbus, PCI Bus
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bakpakr (Post 884535)
Excellent, Thanks

Could you please tell me why you had to add a resistor to the rear cargo?

I also plan on changing all bulbs to LED's with the exception of the headlights both high and low. I am still on the fence with the fog lights. I may go HID with them as well as my headlights.

Like I said I do not want to modify the existing wiring harness in any way. What I plan is if I need any resisters or other components to get the stock operation. I will insert them in the component or I will construct an extension with the proper connectors and the needed component. That way I can just plug it in between the aftermarket component and the stock wiring harness. That way if I ever decide to revert to the stock configuration it is just a matter of unplugging and plugging in the stock components.

I did modify harnesses, but only to splice in the resistors. Other than that, nothing was touched. To answer your question about the interior, if you leave one incandescent in on the interior dome lighting circuit, a resistor ISN'T needed, but if you're like me and you want ALL the dome bulbs to match in LED, you'll need to add a resistor to one of the bulbs in the circuit. It doesn't matter which one. If you don't, the interior lights will not turn off completely when you close the doors. Instead, all of the bulbs will remain dimly lit. I can't remember if it was just one resistor for the entire dome circuit, or two. I know for a fact there is one on my rear cargo area bulb. There may be another one in one of the footwells. I converted my footwell bulbs, glovebox lamp, map lights, vanity mirror lights, the bulbs near the grab handles overhead, and the cargo area light. I think that's all of them. ;)

bakpakr 08-29-2013 03:15 PM

Re: Canbus, PCI Bus
 
Thanks for the reply.

Yea I plan on replacing all my incandescent bulbs with LED's as well.

I most likely will leave the "non user serviced" bulbs alone, (for now). The ones that are soldered directly to a circuit board.

I can see how I will need to have a resistor or resistors for the dome lighting circuit. If it was an on and off circuit I would not need them but being that it has an auto-dim feature it must need a certain current draw to operate the dimmer. Whereas LED's alone will not create enough of a draw.

As I stated I will construct extensions with the needed resistors. Just have to source the appropriate connectors. I am sure I can find them. There is always junk yards with tons of connectors. Would rather use new as opposed to used.

Did you have any fitment issues with any of the LED's? I have spoken to a few individuals that have told me that LED's are taller than stock bulbs.

TJXJWJ 08-29-2013 07:47 PM

Re: Canbus, PCI Bus
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bakpakr (Post 884651)
Thanks for the reply.

Yea I plan on replacing all my incandescent bulbs with LED's as well.

I most likely will leave the "non user serviced" bulbs alone, (for now). The ones that are soldered directly to a circuit board.

I can see how I will need to have a resistor or resistors for the dome lighting circuit. If it was an on and off circuit I would not need them but being that it has an auto-dim feature it must need a certain current draw to operate the dimmer. Whereas LED's alone will not create enough of a draw.

As I stated I will construct extensions with the needed resistors. Just have to source the appropriate connectors. I am sure I can find them. There is always junk yards with tons of connectors. Would rather use new as opposed to used.

Did you have any fitment issues with any of the LED's? I have spoken to a few individuals that have told me that LED's are taller than stock bulbs.

I did the same...I did not replace any circuit board LEDs...just the various wedge and festoon style ones. I had no fitment issues at all...I used VLEDS.com. They have extremely high quality stuff.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community