Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Troubleshooting/Problems (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f181/)
-   -   Tire Pressure Monitoring System (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f181/tire-pressure-monitoring-system-65344.html)

HiddenTalent 09-11-2013 07:17 PM

Tire Pressure Monitoring System
 
Hi,

I had all four of my TPMS's replaced at Discount Tire due to a broken valve stem. They are reading just fine but the DIC is indicating "Service Tire Pressure Monitoring System". It doesn't always display at startup but sometimes a few miles down the road it pops on. "Implausible Data".

Any thoughts?

Verdade 09-26-2013 09:41 PM

Re: Tire Pressure Monitoring System
 
Did you every find out what was happening?

I'm having the same problem now after a week of having new wheels installed. The pressure of each tire displays fine - I just started getting the service TPMS message today.

Anyone have any ideas?




-

HiddenTalent 09-27-2013 05:16 AM

I did not, unfortunately. I did do some research and saw a claim that the spare being low could cause some confusion for the receiver. I checked my spare, its at like 10-15psi. I plan on filling it up this weekend.

lstowell 09-27-2013 05:30 PM

Re: Tire Pressure Monitoring System
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by HiddenTalent (Post 900204)
I did not, unfortunately. I did do some research and saw a claim that the spare being low could cause some confusion for the receiver. I checked my spare, its at like 10-15psi. I plan on filling it up this weekend.

Are these MOPAR sensors or aftermarket ones?
[Discount will sell either]

What year vehicles, and models?

HiddenTalent 09-27-2013 05:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lstowell (Post 900526)
Are these MOPAR sensors or aftermarket ones?
[Discount will sell either]

What year vehicles, and models?

They are not MOPAR. They are the rubber stem Discount, like their mid range guys for $30-$40 each...

JustAnotherJeepGuy 01-21-2015 10:40 PM

Re: Tire Pressure Monitoring System
 
Jeep Tpms/Wireless Control Module automatically reads the sensors and "Supposed" to relearn them.But i do suspect if your not using MOPAR/OEM sensors the WCM is having issues Relearning them Properly. The sensors are telling the WCM The Tire pressures through voltage differences but the WCM is not seeing the OEM Program.

That was long winded i apologize ha.

jeepgcoman 01-21-2015 11:23 PM

Re: Tire Pressure Monitoring System
 
See my Posts No. 28 and 39 on this thread: http://www.jeepgarage.org/f181/servi...p-10898-3.html Better yet, you may want to read the whole thread.

I had tha same problem when I installed new wheels/tires/TPM Sensors. A very few have said they never had this issue when sensors were replaced. Based on the wording in the FSM, I don't see how this is possible, since the ID's are programmed into the NON VOLATILE MEMORY of the WCM. Since I cloned my new sensors to the original ID No's. on the original sensors, I have not had a problem with either my new wheels (summer) and the old (winter) ones.

I will also say that I understand, as more and more of the early DCX vehicles start having this issue, some tire shops are learning about the system and have bought the tools to either clone new sensors or reprogram the WCM. I know that since I showed my tire shop what was going on, they've purchased the needed tooling.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community