Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f77/)
-   -   1999 cherokee o2 sensor mess (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f77/1999-cherokee-o2-sensor-mess-65522.html)

jeepman465 09-16-2013 12:36 AM

1999 cherokee o2 sensor mess
 
So I've got issues with my o2 sensors. Po cut the two front o2 sensors and I can't find the plugs. The cat was cut out and no o2 sensor there either. It's running horrible. Spitting and sputtering. If you floor it it just chugs. But if I'm just cruising down the road I'm getting 18 mpg. How's that?

Frango100 09-16-2013 11:08 AM

Re: 1999 cherokee o2 sensor mess
 
4.0 engine? Is this regarding a cherokee or grand cherokee?
Is there still an O2 sensor in place.
When you floor the accelerator, the O2 sensor input is not used (open loop) and the PCM will regulate the injector pulse width according a programmed schedule. Also when there is no O2 sensor input, the PCM will regulate according a programmed schedule. So you probably need to get the O2 sensors back in place.

jeepman465 09-16-2013 11:57 AM

4.0 grand cherokee. As of right now. One outs of 4 o2 sensors are hooked up.

Frango100 09-16-2013 12:22 PM

Re: 1999 cherokee o2 sensor mess
 
So did the PO cut out the small precats close to the manifolds? The O2 sensor wiring is not stowed away to any bundle or other part? There should be some traces left of the wiring at least, when the wires where cut. So you also have the.check engine light on all the time.

jeepman465 09-16-2013 12:41 PM

Yes it's the pre cats that were cut. I don't see any wiring. Where should I look? Yes check engine light is on.

jeepman465 09-17-2013 04:44 PM

Frango I've also noticed if I just sit in park with it running it acts like it goes into limp mode and misses like crazy until I restart the jeep.

Frango100 09-17-2013 08:50 PM

Re: 1999 cherokee o2 sensor mess
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jeepman465 (Post 895152)
Frango I've also noticed if I just sit in park with it running it acts like it goes into limp mode and misses like crazy until I restart the jeep.

Goes into limp mode? A transmission goes into limp mode. What do you mean with this?
Depending on the emission package, it could have had only two O2 sensors or four. Are you sure that the precats are cut out? Which fault codes does the PCM show? The missing O2 sensors will be shown as fault. When you don't have a.scanner, use the key dance: ignition switch off/ run three times and leave in run at third time. Odometer will show the fault codes.

jeepman465 09-17-2013 08:56 PM

The idle gets different if I just sit there and have the jeep idling. It starts missing worse until I shut the jeep off. Mine has four o2 sensor two on the manifold that both wires are cut then another 02 on the down pipe and one after cat.

Frango100 09-17-2013 11:22 PM

Re: 1999 cherokee o2 sensor mess
 
So do the key dance and see with which faults it comes up.
The O2 sensors normally have a short wire harness with a connector on it, so probably they just disconnected the connectors. Follow the wire bundles and check if you can find some empty connectors.
Was the jeep running like this from the day you bought it?

jeepman465 09-18-2013 12:28 AM

No it's gotten worse. I changed to cp sensor awhile back and it's gotten worse since then almost makes me think the crank sensor faulty. Here's my codes p0353,p0138,p1391

Frango100 09-18-2013 02:00 AM

Re: 1999 cherokee o2 sensor mess
 
Interresting that there is only one O2 sensor fault stored and then even the downstream sensor(P0138)
The P0353 has to do with ignitor coil #3 control circuit. I would swap this coil with an other position and see if the fault follows. Then you are sure that the coil is faulty. One faulty coil will fore sure cause a rough idle
P1391 has to do with intermittent loss of crank or cam sensor signal. Since you changed the crank sensor, that could be the problem. Did you use a Mopar sensor? Aftermarket sensors for crank and cam do fail more often, better use Mopar.

jeepman465 09-18-2013 02:15 AM

How do I swap coils? I've never done that before? And it wasn't a mopar crank sensor so I might have to go to the steelership and get one lol.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community