Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Troubleshooting/Problems (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f203/)
-   -   Overhead Console Problems (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f203/overhead-console-problems-65969.html)

A1C2Hi 09-26-2013 05:59 PM

Overhead Console Problems
 
I recently purchased a 2000 JGC Limited, 4.0, 2WD with 117K miles. The overhead console displays the "perform service" message along with the chime at every startup. Pressing the "reset" button does nothing. Actually none of the Menu items will work...pressing the Menu button does nothing. However the warning messages...door open..etc...seem to work as they should. The compass and temp readings work properly too. The self-test indicates the system is a "pass". I have already tried the battery disconnect and removed and reinstalled the fuse for the console without any luck. I haven't seen any posts with this same problem so I'm hoping someone can help. Thanks Guys!!!!

Frango100 09-26-2013 09:34 PM

Re: Overhead Console Problems
 
Welcome to the garage.
Seems that the problem is the menu button itself. You will have to go through the menu to be able to reset the "perform service" message.
You could give it a try and open up the module to see if anything can be done to the switch (maybe some electrical contact cleaner), or get a junkyard module.
By the way, there are two fuses for the EVIC, fuse 8 and fuse 22 on the junction block under the steering wheel.

A1C2Hi 09-26-2013 09:40 PM

Re: Overhead Console Problems
 
Thanks for the welcome Frank. I have located and purchased a used console from the same model JGC as mine ($30) in hopes I can just change out the module and fix the problem. Got my fingers crossed this works as it will be an easy fix to just change out the parts. Will post the results.

Frango100 09-26-2013 09:50 PM

Re: Overhead Console Problems
 
There are three different model EVIC in use: the basic one, one with universal garage door opener with three extra buttons and one with the TPMS (tire pressure monitoring system)..
Depending on where the unit comes from, you will have to recalibrate the compass and change the variance.

A1C2Hi 09-27-2013 03:36 PM

Re: Overhead Console Problems
 
Ok I just finished installing a used overhead console module and everything appears to be working as it should. I have to go recalibrate the compass. I hope this took care of this problem. Thanks to all who provided info!!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community