Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Troubleshooting/Problems (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f181/)
-   -   Getting Mopar iPod interface to function- how does this thing work? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f181/getting-mopar-ipod-interface-to-function-how-does-this-thing-work-66083.html)

SteelBlueWK 09-30-2013 10:18 AM

Getting Mopar iPod interface to function- how does this thing work?
 
My 07 GC came with the factory Mopar iPod interface kit installed with my RAQ radio. There is a cable in the glovebox with an iPod connector. My question is how do you get this to work? Do I just plug in an iPod and it starts playing (like magic)? How do I select this input on the radio? Can I attach an adapter to the cable (3.5mm headphone to iPod) to play an MP3 player through this interface?

I did a lot of web searches but could not find a definitive answer. It seems in some cases, just plugging in an iPod and setting radio to CD will somehow trigger the interface to pipe music through. Some said to select an empty CD location vs. one that has CD loaded already. IDK. Just confused at the moment.

Please enlighten me. Thanks.

SteelBlueWK 10-02-2013 07:43 AM

Re: Getting Mopar iPod interface to function- how does this thing work?
 
Hellooo! Anybody?

dr.lee.baugh 10-02-2013 08:40 AM

Re: Getting Mopar iPod interface to function- how does this thing work?
 
I thought the ipod connection came through the SAT feed in the RAQs, but I could be completely wrong.

Once an ipod is plugged in, just cycle through the input modes. When you hear your ipod, problem solved.

SteelBlueWK 10-02-2013 09:07 AM

Re: Getting Mopar iPod interface to function- how does this thing work?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dr.lee.baugh (Post 902851)
I thought the ipod connection came through the SAT feed in the RAQs, but I could be completely wrong.

Once an ipod is plugged in, just cycle through the input modes. When you hear your ipod, problem solved.

Thanks for the reply. I guess my first problem is I don't own an iPod. I have several MP3 players though. I tried cycling through the input modes using an MP3 to iPod adapter but got nothing. Web searches said volume of player must be very high for system to recognize a signal and make the connection, but even having volume maxed out didn't help. My wife has an iphone 4S but I haven't had a chance to try it. Several web findings indicate that newer OS's don't work with the Mopar interface starting around 2011. So even buying a new iPod may not solve my problem.:mad:

dr.lee.baugh 10-02-2013 10:19 AM

Re: Getting Mopar iPod interface to function- how does this thing work?
 
Yeah, with newer ipods/iphones you'll also run into problems with the new lightning style connector or whatever they call it.

I would quickly have a peek behind the radio to verify that the ipod adpater is connected. Since the RAQ has no aux input, the ipod input has to go through either the sat or ves input. I am sure you can drag out a wiring diagram to the pin outs on the radio and harness and see.

From there, if you really wanted just a 3.5mm jack, you could tap into the VES input directly and wire it up that way. I am sure others have done this or similar mods.

You may want to post in the Audio/Video forum to get some advice from someone with more experience with radio installs and the RAQ (I have the REC, so am only going on superficial knowledge!)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community