Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Troubleshooting/Problems (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f181/)
-   -   Check 4wd system (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f181/check-4wd-system-66131.html)

LOUDUH13 10-01-2013 08:33 AM

Check 4wd system

Bought my first Jeep last month, '05 GC Limited. I am new to 4 WD and cannot engage my 4 WD system. I have the key ON, transmission in neutral, foot on the brake and when I lift the t-handle, "check 4 wd system" light comes on. I attached a code reader, but no codes come up at all. Is my engaging procedure correct? I have a Quadratrac II and was wondering if there are known issues similar to mine. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!
Thanks,
Lou

cherokee517 10-04-2013 10:35 AM

Re: Check 4wd system

A few yrs ago my husband got me a used 05. It has had the "service 4WD sys" since I got it. Unless & until it comes up with something new to complain about. Then it goes away or flashes back & forth.
The only fixes I've heard of for that were:
·to put it in 4WD & drove a few miles down a dirt rough road. I guess sensor sends false msg when not used.
·reprogramming FDCM
·if still on then delay turning key to second position for 2 seconds

I know you can't even get it into 4WD. I tried shifting out of 4 low once and it wouldn't do it. I pulled the cheap plastic tbar so hard I actually broke it off. (I am a small girl & was actually able to literally break a pc off of a Jeep.)
The problem ended up being the linkage wasn't catching. No matter what it was not going to shift back to 4WD.

Be very careful not to break the tbar. Tow it to someone who can fix it.

This is my 3rd Jeep. The others were WJs. I will do anything to get another one of those. Once fixed you'd probably be better off selling it as fast as possible. Before the next thing inevitably goes wrong. Never had a bigger piece of crap than this vehicle.

dr.lee.baugh 10-04-2013 10:52 AM