Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK2 - (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f73/)
-   -   RA3 omissions - bad surprise for Laredo buyers (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f73/ra3-omissions-bad-surprise-for-laredo-buyers-66764.html)

FStephenMasek 10-16-2013 10:49 AM

RA3 omissions - bad surprise for Laredo buyers

Since my wife and I both like the cloth seats, as they are cool in hot weather and there is no sliding on them, I studied the Loredo. Yes, navigation can be added to the RA3 head unit, but it omits the traffic data and various other important functions. I learned that by accident, searching for the upgrade price, and stumbling on a forum for dealership personnel. For travel with rental cars, we bought a Magellan portable unit with a 7" screen, traffic data, and lifetime free updates from Fry's for $99, and it works well. It seems that Chrysler is taking a very big risk, as people who pay $600 to obtain the navigation on a Loredo will discover they have been cheated with a unit lacking important functions which were readily available many years ago, and which are provided by far less expensive portable units.

bill_de 10-16-2013 10:58 AM

Re: RA3 omissions - bad surprise for Loredo buyers

If people do their homework, they won't be surprised.

Milous talked about the lack of features in the upgradeable nav, even before the first one hit JNAP.

I think all the built in Nav units are over priced and keep costing because map updates are expensive. But, we pay for convenience, an intangible.

FStephenMasek 10-16-2013 06:05 PM

Map updates expensive? The $99 Magellan with a 7" screen we bought comes with free lifetime updates.

2014 LAREDO 10-16-2013 07:13 PM

No nav in our LAREDO. We're old school and use paper maps they're even cheaper. (and probably less problems.) ;)

mswlogo 10-17-2013 06:45 AM

The traffic feature is pretty minimal, I use my Android for traffic.