Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Export Grand Cherokee 2011+ (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f190/)
-   -   Aussie Laredo Nav Activation Screen (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f190/aussie-laredo-nav-activation-screen-67095.html)

Jjhohan 10-25-2013 03:18 AM

Aussie Laredo Nav Activation Screen
 
Just thought Id ask if anyone else gets the same NAV activation I see when in DEALER MODE...if only it were that easy !

http://i708.photobucket.com/albums/w...ERMODE-NAV.jpg

SNUKE 10-25-2013 07:32 AM

Re: Aussie Laredo Nav Activation Screen
 
Very interesting, see this service bulletin that refers to this
http://wk2jeeps.com/tsb/tsb_wk2_0800213a.pdf

So all that is required to unlock the Nav is to input a 16 digit code that is unique to each Nav upgrade.
Maybe the dealer that rumoured this to be offered in Aus early next year was correct, or maybe not, just part of the system they never bothered to switch of in Aus as it is Dealer Mode and not something most consumers would come across.

Jjhohan 10-28-2013 04:04 AM

Re: Aussie Laredo Nav Activation Screen
 
Look What Popped up on my screen !!?

http://i708.photobucket.com/albums/w...8102013465.jpg

Jjhohan 10-28-2013 04:48 AM

Re: Aussie Laredo Nav Activation Screen
 
First thought the above screen came about after I had enabled 'Navigation Demo Mode'

But realised now MAP = Message Access Protocol.
EDIT: Actually I believe the MAP symbol IS related to GPS...Limited Owners can you confirm ?

EDIT EDIT!!:
Found that it is related for sure...Limited owners have the MAP symbol/button..and it seems other Laredo owners are seeing it pop up on their screen !!!
http://www.jeepgarage.org/f190/2014-...tml#post901679

http://i708.photobucket.com/albums/w...8102013453.jpg

Jjhohan 10-28-2013 04:53 AM

Re: Aussie Laredo Nav Activation Screen
 
When the Demo Mode is enabled...nothing happens !

Perhaps its because the Navigation Software is missing ..as seen below...

http://i708.photobucket.com/albums/w...8102013454.jpg

Jjhohan 10-28-2013 06:59 AM

Re: Aussie Laredo Nav Activation Screen
 
The question remains...do Laredo owners have the Hardware needed for navigation?...is it only navigation software we need plus activation.?

Are updates to the Navigation carried out as a separate USB upgrade?...separate to the radio upgrade..

SNUKE 10-28-2013 07:23 AM

Re: Aussie Laredo Nav Activation Screen
 
The GPS antenna is one bit of hardware they may be missing.

Jjhohan 10-28-2013 05:07 PM

Re: Aussie Laredo Nav Activation Screen
 
Hmmm Whats the 'Sierra' Hardware ?? Its listed as undefined in the Laredo?!

SNUKE 10-28-2013 08:20 PM

Re: Aussie Laredo Nav Activation Screen
 
Probably for the Hotspot option in the US vehicles - I suspect it is Sierra Wireless.

Jjhohan 11-08-2013 01:18 AM

Re: Aussie Laredo Nav Activation Screen
 
For Laredo owners ..keep an eye on this thread !

http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/need-...ode-67636.html

dirtydawg 11-09-2015 06:32 AM

Re: Aussie Laredo Nav Activation Screen
 
I can confirm that the Laredo version of the Uconnect system (8.4A VP3 ROW) does have the hardware required for navigation.

It simply needs the activation code entered in via the dealer menu.

Aussie dealers will charge far too much for this ($2K) but the same upgrade is available online from US companies. Most dealers here (oz) have a 3rd party do this for them such as Doyle's for example, so not getting it from Jeep is not really an issue.

Following a long debacle with Doyle's and my dealer, during which time they upgraded my unit incorrectly with Nth American software and numerous other updates, only to fail to get it to work at every turn. :nutkick:

They tested the GPS receiver in the unit but couldn't get a signal, so rather then coming to the logical conclusion that there was a hardware issue, they wasted my time for 6 mths trying everything except testing it on a different unit or just doing a warranty claim.

Eventually I got in touch with a US company whom, from my detailed record of events, immediately suggested the Sierra wireless module was faulty. Now the dealer is going to replace the system. They also confirmed that the dealer/doyle's should not have updated the software (particularly with a US update) as this is not required.

I intend to get my $2K refunded once the Uconnect is replaced and then get the NAV activation code via email for $500 USD. As is the case in getting it done via the dealer, all that's required is the VIN, and request code as noted in the previous posts. job done.

mrcasmir 11-27-2015 06:17 AM

Re: Aussie Laredo Nav Activation Screen
 
Your Laredo is already equipped with all you need in order to Navigate all that is lacking is the Nav Icon in your radio which is where the activation code comes in.
Don't ever listen to what your dealer tells you here in Australia because I've found that its either they are clueless or just liars and I would bet on the later.
I say this out of experience because I remember when I was due for servicing, I booked it with my dealer and requested a Nav activation but before I could take the car in for servicing, I managed to get the activation code from a guy on eBay mrcasidy | eBay
To my amazement, even though Nav has been activated before I took it in for servicing, this service centre said that activation wasn't possible that the car does not have all the required hardware including the head unit. This was their statement even though Nav was working already.
Flip the eBay guy a message, I believe he is offering a discount now because I paid $580 for mine back in March this year.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community