Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum banner

2012 Grand Cherokee Laredo - Leaking Shock

8K views 5 replies 3 participants last post by  mbelcher1983 
#1 · (Edited)
I would first like to mention that I'm new to Jeep Garage and this is my first post. I apologize if my question is a repeat but I want to make sure that I'm clear.

Last weekend I purchased a ussed 2012 Grand Cherokee Laredo with 32K miles. When I was inspecting yesterday I noticed a left rear leaking shock. I don't have the rear load leveling, just the standard shocks. I realize this will be covered under warranty but my question is whether or not the dealership with replace both shocks? I've ALWAYS replaced both together but I know how dealerships can sometimes be when it comes to warranties. From my research there was a service bulletin issued for the load leveling which requires replacing both. Anyone know about the standard shocks?

Thanks in advance for your help.

#4 ·
I'm not sure how Jeep's warranty approaches this. But, if they only cover one, I would pay to have the second one replaced. But before doing that at the dealer I would see if you could get a pair changed at an independent cheaper than paying for one at the dealer.

Hopefully, they will do both and you won't have to do any shopping.

---

#6 ·
This is the TSB I was referring to. The section in red is what I'm hoping will create enough of an argument to replace both shocks even though I don't have a load leveling suspension.

SERVICE BULLETIN NUMBER: 17-005-13
GROUP: Rear Suspension
DATE: April 03, 2013

SUBJECT:
Rattle And/Or Clunk Noise From Rear Of The Vehicle Equipped With Load Leveling Suspension
OVERVIEW:
This bulletin involves verifying and if necessary replacing the right and left rear shock absorbers.
MODELS:
2011-2013 WK Grand Cherokee
2011-2013 WD Durango
NOTE: This bulletin applied to vehicles equipped with Rear Load Leveling
Suspension (sales code SES) and could be combined with Normal Duty