Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/)
-   -   Is this 4.7L MPG really something I have to get use to??? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/is-this-4-7l-mpg-really-something-i-have-to-get-use-to-6788.html)

nastylil93 02-21-2010 06:26 PM

Is this 4.7L MPG really something I have to get use to???

I bought an 06' Laredo w/ 4.7L in it back in Dec. It has 34,500 miles on it and all stock. I love it and I am new to Jeeps, but when I bought it and drove it off the lot, the EVIC was showing 15.8 mpg and has been decreasing ever since. I am down to 13.0 now and I have a 1000 mile round trip coming up and these mpg are making me nervous. I know what you guys are gonna say, "If MPG were on your mind, shouldn't have bought a V8".... But come on, i expected better then this. I do not have a lead foot at ALL in this, I save that for my Camaro in my avatar....:thumbsup: I have even started driving it slower and easing into the gas softer than I ever do and the MPG just keep dropping. Is this really normal?? I drive the thing only 5 days a week and 15 miles everyday, so not that much mileage and stop-go driving. Sorry for the long story, but just need some input from you Jeep experts on here. Thanks.

Robert Palmer 02-21-2010 06:30 PM

Re: Is this 4.7L MPG really something I have to get use to???

5000 pounds and full time 4WD will do that to ya.

LTrainGC 02-21-2010 06:40 PM

If you only drive 15 miles a day, that is 7.5 miles each way. I'd assume the Jeep is barely at operating temperature by the time you reach your destination, and engines don't run at their most efficient when they are cold.

Try calculating your mileage by hand and see if your results differ any from your EVIC.

SvenskaJeepGuy 02-21-2010 06:43 PM

thats only averaged over the last 30 miles, so if you are doing city miles it is going to stay low.

AcidCold 02-21-2010 06:49 PM