Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Interior/Exterior/Visual (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f176/)
-   -   Possible to fit 2014 Summit headlights / LED DRLS into 2012 Overland Summit? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f176/possible-to-fit-2014-summit-headlights-led-drls-into-2012-overland-summit-68123.html)

rjSummit 11-19-2013 04:14 PM

Possible to fit 2014 Summit headlights / LED DRLS into 2012 Overland Summit?

1 Attachment(s)
First off, I apologize if there is already a thread on this as I am new to the message board and I'm also new to making any sort of modifications as this is the first time i've had a nice enough vehicle to even care about making them. Also, sorry about all of the questions below, but like I said, I am completely new to making modifications so I am just looking for any sort of guidance.

I have a 2012 Overland Summit, and I am looking to convert the 2012 Headlights/turn signal/DRL's into the Summit 2014 Headlights/turn signal/LED DRL's.

I guess the first question is whether anyone knows if the dimensions of the housing is the same between the two models? Or would I need a complete new 2014 fascia/grille to make it all fit?

Second, my Overland Summit is equipped with the Adaptive Bi-Xenon headlights-- can these transfer over to the 2014 housing or are they completely different headlights/sizes for the 2014 Summit?

Third, will the 2012 electrical system support adding the 2014 LED DRL's in place of the regular DRL's that are on the 2012?

Fourth, would it be easiest to take it to a shop that does modifications, or is it pretty simple to buy the parts from Mopar and install them myself (I'd get help from my dad who used to be an engineer for Chrysler and has his own shop for a racecar, so tools etc shouldn't be an issue) -- I am trying to not spend too much money so doing it myself would be preferred