Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK2 - (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f73/)
-   -   Bad upgrade on my 2011 MyGig RBZ (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f73/bad-upgrade-on-my-2011-mygig-rbz-68238.html)

jimexcelcs 11-22-2013 08:29 AM

Bad upgrade on my 2011 MyGig RBZ

I've visited these forums a number of times since I bought my Grand Cherokee. You guys rock but I did something stupid.

So I heard there was a new software update available for the RBZ radio in my 2011 MyGig RBZ unit. I gathered that from this thread: New Software Update MyGIG RBZ-RB2-RHB / 33.01.23

So I excitedly downloaded the software and tried to perform the upgrade. It didn't go well. It is stuck in a boot-loop. It displays the JEEP logo for 5 minutes or so then reboots and does the same thing again. I just got back from a 2 hour road trip and it did this the whole time.

So the question is: How badly screwed am I? I'm a computer technician so I can reformat the hard drive but I suspect I did a "flash" (aka ROM) upgrade and hosed the thing for good.

BONUS QUESTION: Assuming it is now a brick, finding a replacement for this thing is frustrating. Does anyone know THE part number I need to order an exact replacement?

Maliberti 11-22-2013 09:33 AM

Re: Bad upgrade on my 2011 MyGig RBZ

Te Jeep runs on QNX platform. I highly doubt you bricked the computer and need to replace it.

Call the dealer and have them re install .

jimexcelcs 11-22-2013 12:50 PM

I did that. They wanted to replace it and didn't seem to know what the heck they were talking about.

I'm a computer technician. I can re-image the hard drive myself but I keep hearing that what I did was a ROM update that is unaffected by a HD swap.

scooterha 11-22-2013 02:44 PM

isn't there a way to take it back to the factory settings?

Todd3.6 11-24-2013 10:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jimexcelcs (Post 934304)