Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio/Visual/Navigation (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/)
-   -   Android Apps now able to run on RA3/RJ3 Radios (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/android-apps-now-able-to-run-on-ra3-rj3-radios-69219.html)

Jjhohan 12-15-2013 06:33 AM

Android Apps now able to run on RA3/RJ3 Radios
 
Uconnect 8.4A / NA add on Android system Internet/Facebook/Android market - YouTube

Jjhohan 12-15-2013 06:35 AM

Re: Android Apps now able to run on RA3/RJ3 Radios
 
ok the apps don't run on the Uconnect OS..rather this appears to be an android addon device of somesort? using the Uconnect display...to allow the touch control and use of an android system and all its apps.

How does it all work ??

StaticFX 12-15-2013 11:42 AM

Re: Android Apps now able to run on RA3/RJ3 Radios
 
yeah, seeing as that they didnt click something on the radio to get to the android apps. This looks to be just using the radio as a display.

Jjhohan 12-15-2013 10:57 PM

Re: Android Apps now able to run on RA3/RJ3 Radios
 
Yeah I can hear a switch click at the start of the android display as though changing input.

Still it gives internet, email, all android apps, video, and navigation..not a bad add on.

Just like to know..
A) what android device is he using? and
B) how does it interface correctly and work with the touchscreen? I imagine this would be pricey.

Jjhohan 12-16-2013 07:11 AM

Re: Android Apps now able to run on RA3/RJ3 Radios
 
Does the Harman Uconnect have - A 4 wire Resistive Touch Panel ?????

If so...then I 'think' a way this could be working is to use an android tablet and connect its 4 wire touch display connection into the Uconnect system/4wire touch display connection....then the Video from the tablet to a Video input into the Uconnect using one of the many available Video input units (lockpick, navtv, hi-tv etc)...somehow you would have to switch that 4 wire 'link' off when switching between the android display and the Uconnect display....(relay/switch?)..then the last part of the puzzle would be audio...assume a cable would suffice..or pair the tablet for Bluetooth audio streaming.

Now all this theory is easily shot to hell ..if the Harman 8.4 Uconnect resistive touch screen does NOT use a standard 4 Wire Touch screen connection ???

CLStech 12-16-2013 08:33 AM

Re: Android Apps now able to run on RA3/RJ3 Radios
 
This does not seem to be mirror of a connected phone. This seems to be a system similar to lockpic that is running android. Pretty neat idea.

Given that the lockpic can be controlled from the touchscreen it seems this concept is not far off. i'd like the interface to be a little cleaner but this is an excellent start.
Video shows a Dodge Ram 2013 Uconnect 8.4A that we have added android system to.
Share your phones internet (WIFI HOT SPOOT) with the android system
and access Internet/Facebook/Youtube/Navigation or any app you whant.

2 video inputs can also be added like front camera etc .

Audio from the android system can be intergrated to the factory speaker system with a AUX cabel or with a Bluetooth transmitter /FM Transmitter external speaker is included.

Android system/ video inputs is turned on with the steering whell button or the included external button

For price Contact us at Carperformance@telia.com or visit our website www.Carperformance.se (opening soon)

Jjhohan 12-16-2013 08:46 AM

Re: Android Apps now able to run on RA3/RJ3 Radios
 
Cost is 1399Euros ...and another problem...you have to send your radio to them !

I don't think the car would run without it ?
And then there is the risk....hopefully someone local could do this.

Im thinking Im not far wrong on how they are doing this...the lockpick might be in there but to get either a standalone Navigation device working via touch or Android I think they are hacking the Uconnect Touchscreen...anyone else thoughts on this ?

See this Navigation only Video by the same guy/company

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KwRos4KGc7U

CLStech 12-16-2013 09:01 AM

Re: Android Apps now able to run on RA3/RJ3 Radios
 
The newest lockpic for 2014+ "hacks the uconnect touchscreen". I say this because if you go into your camera viewing modes you can press different parts of the screen to activate different inputs. (see page 8&9 of lockpic manual

This would be very similar to getting the touch screen information on whatever device is running the android OS. Not saying that the lockpic is being used but similar integration methods are being used.

Jjhohan 12-16-2013 05:14 PM

Re: Android Apps now able to run on RA3/RJ3 Radios
 
Yes ! Nice find CLStech ...I also hadn't realised that the lockpic allows the playing of 'some?' ipod/ipad apps as well...including video.

Jjhohan 12-17-2013 12:48 AM

Re: Android Apps now able to run on RA3/RJ3 Radios
 
Can anyone recognise the Android OS being used?

... (see the video) it has the up/down buttons to navigate the available apps.

argue4u 06-19-2014 02:56 AM

Re: Android Apps now able to run on RA3/RJ3 Radios
 
Has anyone tried this?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community