Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Members Rides (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f14/)
-   -   GCLTD10's Build Thread (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f14/gcltd10s-build-thread-69356.html)

GC10LTD 12-18-2013 11:11 AM

GCLTD10's Build Thread

2 Attachment(s)
It all started when I graduated High school. I got my 2010 Jeep Grand Cherokee as my graduation gift. This is the first picture I took with it!

Attachment 33306

It stayed stock for a while, over a year to be exact. And then came my first mod, to go to black jeep wheels. Being a college student and not being able to afford $500 new black wheels, I used some plastidip. Here is one in the process shots.

Attachment 33307

iamshark 12-19-2013 06:44 AM

Re: GCLTD10's Build Thread

Lost my Jeep cherry after several beach failures with a poorly equipped S-10 pickup and never looked back; minus one run in with a Durango, but that's another story. How did the plastidip treat you? A good friend swore by it and even dabbled in coating some 12/0 Penn fishing reels with it.

GC10LTD 12-19-2013 01:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by iamshark (Post 947728)
Lost my Jeep cherry after several beach failures with a poorly equipped S-10 pickup and never looked back; minus one run in with a Durango, but that's another story. How did the plastidip treat you? A good friend swore by it and even dabbled in coating some 12/0 Penn fishing reels with it.

You've gotta give it time to set up and dry with each coat. Especially on the wheels. If you rush through it, it will turn out shitty. I usually take a day to do all 4 wheels. And I suggest taking each wheel off and doing it that way. Just jack it up and take each tire off and do it

iamshark 12-19-2013 09:21 PM

Will keep that in mind. Wasn't sure if it would hold up or not. Here I guess the salt would be the biggest issue. Thanks for the input. Appricieate it.

GC10LTD 12-20-2013 02:49 PM

Quote: