Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0 (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f222/)
-   -   Has anyone used Chip Express tuner? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f222/has-anyone-used-chip-express-tuner-70504.html)

Dark_Shadow_GC 01-17-2014 02:13 PM

Has anyone used Chip Express tuner?
 
I am looking into some of the different tuners out for the diesel. I want squeeze as much fuel economy as I can out of new overland. I have been reading the bluespark thread and seems very promising. I have also found that Chip Express makes a tuner for the EcoDiesel, which seems promising as well. Diesel Tuning Chip for Jeep Grand Cherokee 3.0 CRD 243PS / 179kW / 240bhp Anyone on here have any experience with this chip?

fun2drive 01-17-2014 03:01 PM

Re: Has anyone used Chip Express tuner?
 
I just looked their site over and it seems promising. However this is for a UK tuned JGC and I have no idea what the export versions offer vs the US models. That is something we need to know because there are differences in tuning. The HP and lbs-ft torque are the same for what the UK model is so there is hope.
I have tuned my Super Duty Diesel and my fuel mileage, hp and torque went up around 30% which is about what the 1st tune level is. I fully think we can tune our SFU to close to 300 hp and 550-600 lbs-ft torque safely.
Maybe someone else can chip in about the differences between the UK and US...

Dark_Shadow_GC 01-17-2014 03:09 PM

Re: Has anyone used Chip Express tuner?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by fun2drive (Post 961283)
I just looked their site over and it seems promising. However this is for a UK tuned JGC and I have no idea what the export versions offer vs the US models. That is something we need to know because there are differences in tuning. The HP and lbs-ft torque are the same for what the UK model is so there is hope.
I have tuned my Super Duty Diesel and my fuel mileage, hp and torque went up around 30% which is about what the 1st tune level is. I fully think we can tune our SFU to close to 300 hp and 550-600 lbs-ft torque safely.
Maybe someone else can chip in about the differences between the UK and US...

The one that I linked to from my post is targeted to US customers. If you use their vehicle selector tool on the left hand navigation on their site, you get the option to pick the US spec ecodiesel engine. Diesel Tuning Chip for Jeep Grand Cherokee 3.0 CRD 243PS / 179kW / 240bhp

  • Power: 243 PS (179 kW / 240 bhp)
  • Torque: 570 Nm (420 lbf/ft)
  • Option: US Spec / EcoDiesel
  • Availability: In Stock
I just grabbed that from their site.

Dark_Shadow_GC 01-17-2014 03:33 PM

Re: Has anyone used Chip Express tuner?
 
I emailed them earlier today asking them just to confirm compatibility with our diesels and they said that it is configured for our trucks. They even sent me a coupon for 50 Sterling off. So that would put it at around $618 dollars shipped to us.

All on their site looks very promising. Seems easier to set up than the bluespark tuner. But if you really wanted to configure your own settings, they do give you that option as well.

ferntree 01-17-2014 05:19 PM

Re: Has anyone used Chip Express tuner?
 
Tried a very similar unit on my wife's Alfa Romeo turbodiesel in Australia. Made a very noticeable difference and would smoke most things at the lights. Ended up taking it off when we had to replace an injector. Don't know if it was related to the unit or not. Will be interested to see any feedback on these and other units as it looks like the 3.0 is in a very low state of tune compared to its potential.

Goonbash 01-17-2014 05:47 PM

Re: Has anyone used Chip Express tuner?
 
+1 interested

Been wondering if the guy with the major bluespark problem was a troll

Dark_Shadow_GC 01-17-2014 06:01 PM

I'm gonna see what he says about the issue he had with the bluespark. From reading some of the feedback from the others who are running the bluespark, seems like he was pushing the engine a bit too far for the setting he was on. But that's just my opinion. I honestly can't see the chip causing the jeep to just go dead, but who knows.

I might just order me the chip express one over the weekend. If I do, I probably won't mess with any of the settings it comes with. Should be good enough to give me a good enhancement over stock.

Goonbash 01-17-2014 06:04 PM

Re: Has anyone used Chip Express tuner?
 
Please keep us posted if you do.

Dark_Shadow_GC 01-21-2014 10:01 AM

So I ordered the tuner over the weekend. Should be getting to me sometime next week. I will report back once I have it installed.

fun2drive 01-21-2014 11:16 AM

Re: Has anyone used Chip Express tuner?
 
Looking forward to your impressions of the device...

joenjulie 01-21-2014 11:33 AM

Re: Has anyone used Chip Express tuner?
 
I looked at this, BS, Steinbauer, and Green Diesel Engineering. Steinbauer quoted me at $1945 ish for a tuner for our Jeeps, looks well thought out, and they have a pretty good warranty(1 year free replacement, 3 years if you register the tuner), and a switch to turn on/off. They list a tuner for the RAM diesel already, 288hp/504ft-lbs. BS looks promising as well, ONCE you find the right setting.
Spoke on the phone with Green Diesel. He said it would probably be 9 months before it's out, but he's waiting to get a jeep, and he's going to do hot/cold weather testing, take in the hills, and put a few thousand miles on while data logging, then he'll start tuning and repeat the testing to ensure proper function, and not impact DPF function. Bad part is, it's a total flash where you send him your computer, he flashes and sends back. I live about 3.5hrs from him, and told him I would be willing to come up for a couple days to let him play with it. No pricing at this time, but he's gotten great results with the Mercedes diesel, and the old Liberty diesel. He suggested not putting on a "pressure box" on our diesel.
I want one NOW, but may wait until some of these are out a while, and maybe someone will make a better flowing air filter, or gasp, a CAI.

joenjulie 01-21-2014 11:34 AM

Re: Has anyone used Chip Express tuner?
 
I should've said the RAM 1/2 ton, but figured it was implied ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community