Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Suspension/Brakes/Wheels/Tires (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f185/)
-   -   Use old TPMS on New Wheels? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f185/use-old-tpms-on-new-wheels-71166.html)

Kayak83 02-01-2014 09:29 PM

Use old TPMS on New Wheels?
 
Title says it all. Can I use my old TPMS on my new wheels when they get here? I'm ordering some Mamba MR1X's and am trying to save a buck or two. Thanks!

Also, if anyone wants to buy my old Ronin II wheels PM me!! Cheeeeaaaap!

SNUKE 02-02-2014 12:12 AM

Re: Use old TPMS on New Wheels?
 
yes

Kayak83 02-02-2014 12:21 AM

Re: Use old TPMS on New Wheels?
 
Thought so. Local tire place told my dad he couldn't use the same sensors when he got new snow tires. Told him it was bogus. Just wanna be prepared...

dmsfun 02-02-2014 11:39 AM

Re: Use old TPMS on New Wheels?
 
Not worth using old ones if they have more than 70k. They are not designed to last much longer than that, and the labor cost to put on new sensors after the new wheels and tires are mounted will be far more than if you just do it now. I had one bad one at 75k, put on new sensors with new tires shortly after that.

Strongjeff 02-02-2014 11:41 AM

Re: Use old TPMS on New Wheels?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dmsfun (Post 969385)
Not worth using old ones if they have more than 70k. They are not designed to last much longer than that, and the labor cost to put on new sensors after the new wheels and tires are mounted will be far more than if you just do it now. I had one bad one at 75k, put on new sensors with new tires shortly after that.

Agreed unless they were changed not too long ago.

Kayak83 02-02-2014 01:21 PM

Re: Use old TPMS on New Wheels?
 
Nope. Stock sensors that have been moved once from stock tires to revo 2's years ago. 63k miles or so on them. I'm looking at rock auto for sensors now. Didn't expect an additional $200 for sensors... Any recommendations? They always have good prices and selection. Not sure what the difference is between direct fir and multi-fit...

2006 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE Tire Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS) Sensor

Strongjeff 02-02-2014 03:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kayak83 (Post 969421)
Nope. Stock sensors that have been moved once from stock tires to revo 2's years ago. 63k miles or so on them. I'm looking at rock auto for sensors now. Didn't expect an additional $200 for sensors... Any recommendations? They always have good prices and selection. Not sure what the difference is between direct fir and multi-fit...

2006 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE Tire Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS) Sensor

Direct fit. Had to replace one.

Kayak83 02-07-2014 11:24 AM

Re: Use old TPMS on New Wheels?
 
Had the wheels put on. They switched over the sensors without issue. Although after charging me for the rebuild kits for the sensors, mount/balance and black lug nuts it ended up being $300 just to switch some wheels. Ouch!


https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/W2...g=w958-h719-no

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-2...160349_HDR.jpg

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-r...160611_HDR.jpg


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community