Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Performance Modifications (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f6/)
-   -   probably another beat-up thread (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f6/probably-another-beat-up-thread-71759.html)

Driveamerican 02-15-2014 07:57 PM

probably another beat-up thread

I apologize if I'm starting a thread that's been answered over and over before but I see a different advice everywhere so, to save myself some time and given the fact that over the years this forum has provided me with way more useful information than any dealer I have a couple of questions to ask. Please keep in mind that I'm a noob and that I've never tried to modify my Jeep before.

I've loved the rugged American Jeep ever since I could remember (I'm originally from Russia), therefore, I bought a 2014 Grand Cherokee Limited the first chance I had, I chose to go with a Hemi instead of the Luxury II group ( especially when my friend showed me his sunroof leaking and the HID lights not leveling themselves) added a Nav and a sunroof with 20" wheels.

My questions are:
1) did I make a mistake getting the 20" wheels, I am planning to do some light offloading down in PA and I thought that 20's would increase my ground clearance, just wanted to know that I'm ok. My tires are stock, so is the rest of my car. Should I change the tires or the stock Fortera will be ok for some dirt, snow and ice, pushed by the lower gear on the Quadra Track II.

2) after trying the V6 (290hp) I was left with a feeling that it wasn't enough to make the Jeep speedy enough, I knew that there would be a hefty gas penalty but didn't think I'd get 8mpg average, is there anything I can do (buy, install, etc.) in order to make the car eat less gas or, at least, be more powerful "on the cheap"? Not looking for much, don't want to redo exhaust, etc.