Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Export Grand Cherokee 2011+ (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f190/)
-   -   About to Buy a Jeep GC in Brisbane - Advice Needed. (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f190/about-to-buy-a-jeep-gc-in-brisbane-advice-needed-71765.html)

Braddles 02-15-2014 11:00 PM

About to Buy a Jeep GC in Brisbane - Advice Needed.

I am new to the world of Jeep (and this forum!)...

I live in Brisbane and recently purchased myself a fishing boat - and so next came the need for a comfortable car to tow it, and allow me to head over to Frazer and Straddie fishing / camping etc.

After a LOT of looking, I have decided on a Jeep GC overland, TD, in black, and have spent the last 2 weeks negotiating prices.

The thing is - I am worried I am missing somthing when choosing the Overland over the Summit.

The Summit (as I am lead to believe) is a limited edition of 200 cars and is seemingly cleverly marketed as "upmarket" over and above the Overland.

The Summit (as I am aware) has:

1. Extra Plastic "Chrome" around the front (I think it looks over the top and tacky personally)
2. Coloured wheel arch trims and skirts (My Car will be black so wont matter / be noticable)
3. Different wheels - which IMHO are again tacky (shiney, spoke like) - I much prefer the overland wheels which are more contemporary, solid and classy.
4. Few more speakers in the sound system
5. Different hood liner
6. Natura-Plus "Leather" which is I am told is not even genuine leather on the seats!!! (Cant believe this!!)
7. Extra 5K on the price tag over the overland for above features.
8. Summit are all 2013 build plate. I can get a 2014 Build plate car from next month. (come resale, a 2014 car will be worth more than 2013, regardless of a few trinkets).

I would be keen to hear peoples opinion?

Did anyone else choose an overland, over the summit for similar or any other reasons?