Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Troubleshooting/Problems (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f181/)
-   -   06 Grand Cherokee Idle Issue (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f181/06-grand-cherokee-idle-issue-73969.html)

mikepartridge06 04-12-2014 08:02 PM

06 Grand Cherokee Idle Issue
 
I am having an on going problem with an idle issue. It only happens when I am stopped and applying the brake. It also seems to only be when the gas tank is below half (don't know if this matters or not) The revs will intermittently dip and it will want to stall. I have ran 4 cans of seafoam through. I have replaced the spark plugs and air filter. I then replaced the idle air control and the throttle position sensor and cleaned out the throttle body.

I am thoroughly out of ideas and would appreciate any help.

dmsfun 04-13-2014 08:25 AM

Re: 06 Grand Cherokee Idle Issue
 
If you didn't, you need to reset the idle and ECU after cleaning the TB, i.e. by unhooking battery neg terminal for 30 minutes or so. If all else if good, that will solve it. My idle was so far off after cleaning it the first time, it threw an idle code which went away after resettting the ECU. What engine and how many miles ?

mikepartridge06 04-13-2014 07:17 PM

Re: 06 Grand Cherokee Idle Issue
 
I did disconnect the battery after I finished the cleaning to reset the ECU. It does not throw any codes which is part of the reason why its such a pain to diagnoes. Its the V6 3.7L. Im starting to wonder if it is something with the fuel pump? I'm out of ideas lol.

Benzie002 05-16-2014 03:26 PM

Re: 06 Grand Cherokee Idle Issue
 
Ever fix this? My 05 does the same- runs fine but idle rough. how about 02 sensors? It is not generating any codes.

Frango100 05-16-2014 05:10 PM

Re: 06 Grand Cherokee Idle Issue
 
O2 sensor can be the problem. It could cause a negative fuel trim, but then it most probably would give the check engine light and a P0300 fault code (random multiple misfire) The misfire could give the rough idle. If you don't have any fault code set, i would not suspect the O2 sensor(s).
If you have a scanner with live data, you could check the fuel trims for abnormal values.
Did you clean throttle body and idle air passage and change the TPS already?

Benzie002 05-16-2014 05:48 PM

06 Grand Cherokee Idle Issue
 
Yes! Cleaned throttle body, IAC, replaced TPS. Not sure what else to do, plugs were changed about 15k miles ago.

Thanks


Sent from my iPad using JeepGarage


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community