Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/)
-   -   Tire pressure sensors 2007 WK (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/tire-pressure-sensors-2007-wk-74832.html)

mrjaydeeone 05-07-2014 09:09 AM

Tire pressure sensors 2007 WK
 
1 Attachment(s)
I'm looking to replace my sensors. 2 questions. I cross referenced parts numbers and came across these. 56029479AA from a 2011 wrangler 315 MHz. Says they will work in 05-07 grand cherokee. My current have metal valve stems. these have rubber does it matter? I noticed on wkjeeps.com 05-6 and 07 are different parts numbers. But on like dorman for example 05-7 have same number. Does it matter? Also do I need to get my wheels balances along with the tpms sensor replacement? These are the sensors I was looking to purchase Attachment 39292

jeepgcoman 05-08-2014 08:46 PM

Re: Tire pressure sensors 2007 WK
 
No, it doesn't matter, as long as they're 315 mhz. The newer WK's use 433 mhz. Some guys were having trouble with the metal ones corroding out and losing air.

Be aware, if you have the premium TPMS (shows each tire position's pressure as opposed to just low pressure on one of the tires) you may have the EVIC displaying the, "Service tire press. system" message. If you do, let us know. Are the new sensors "cloneable"?

If the new sensors are about the same weight and you put the tire back on the rim in the same position it was in when you broke the bead, you probably won't need to rebalance, unless you were getting a shimmy or vibration at some speed.

thex2 05-09-2014 10:15 AM

Re: Tire pressure sensors 2007 WK
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jeepgcoman (Post 1019179)
Be aware, if you have the premium TPMS (shows each tire position's pressure as opposed to just low pressure on one of the tires) you may have the EVIC displaying the, "Service tire press. system" message. If you do, let us know.

I had two sensors replaced by a Good Year Tire service center. I specifically requested OEM parts to be installed and they claimed that they got OEM parts from NAPA. The Service tire system lights up on my dash every time I drive the vehicle. If I hit the Step key, it goes away and displays all of the tire pressures accurately. I asked Good Year Tire to replace the two sensors with sensors from the Jeep dealership and they just refunded me my money and said they couldn't help me. Is there anything I can do to get that light on my dash to stop popping up short of replacing the sensors with OEM sensors purchased through the dealership?

jeepgcoman 05-09-2014 02:20 PM

Re: Tire pressure sensors 2007 WK
 
The problem is with Chrysler/Jeep. The idiots programmed the ID numbers of the original sensors into your Wireless Control Module (also known as SKREEM module) at the factory. They are stored in the non-volatile memory, so the only way to get it changed is go to the dumb a$$ stealer and have them charge you mega $$$ just to change the ID No's in th WCM. You're right though, the new sensors will all work fine, but you'll get that message forever, unless you change the ID's on the new sensors to the ones that were on your original sensors.....or pay to have the ID's in the WCM to reflect your new sensor ID's. Talk about stupid!!

What I have done is purchase Dorman cloneable sensors (all of theirs are) and their cloning tool. You can purchase it as a kit. It'll work on all sensors (315 and 433 mhz) that are cloneable. Just get the ID's off your original sensors (you can get them read at any tire shop, or buy a reset tool), clone them onto the new ones and your light will go away. I, personally, refuse to go to the stealer and have them fleece me, solely because of their stupidity in designing the system. If you want, go to the dumb stealer and ask how much it'll cost for them to do it for you with their StarScan tool. Add in you inconvenience and hassle of taking it in, and then deduct that from the cost of the kit (again it'll work on all cloneable sensors) and that'll be your real cost.

Let us know what you end up doing and how much it ends up costing.

thex2 05-09-2014 04:44 PM

Re: Tire pressure sensors 2007 WK
 
I like the idea of getting the Dorman cloneable sensors, but I don't have two of the old sensors to detect the ID off of. Do they all share 1 ID or do I need to go to the dealership at least once to get them to tell me the old ID's or is there another way? Thanks.

jeepgcoman 05-09-2014 07:30 PM

Re: Tire pressure sensors 2007 WK
 
If you don't have the original sensors, it is possible to read them off the WCM, if you can find someone that has a good diagnostic tool. I have an Autel MaxiDas DS708, and it'll read them, as well as tell me the status of all the sensors. If you can't find someone (try all the tire dealers first) with a device that will read them off the WCM, about your only choice will be to go to the stealer.

mrjaydeeone 05-10-2014 07:46 AM

Re: Tire pressure sensors 2007 WK
 
really? It's going to be that big of a PITA? on my WJ I had the metal stems. A couple had cracked. So I was thinking rubber ones might be a good route this time once I found out they were the same. Now thinking the metal ones blended on stock wheels better haha. On my WJ the sensors were just swapped. I didn't see anything scanned or anything like that. But like you said won't be the case this time around. My display shows all 4 pressures. Left rear is currently not showing, and I am getting that 'Service Tire Press. system" message each time I start up. I don't know if this means anything but twice work was done which required battery to be disconnected and each time for a couple start ups the message wasn't there and all pressures were displaying. But then it would come back. Grrr so this is going to cost me an arm and a leg no matter which way I look at it for a Jeep I've only had for about 3 months. Maybe I am best off going to the shop I normally let work on my Jeep, letting them swap the sensors and maybe they'll help me out with getting the message gone. I had been thinking of getting all 4 swapped, cause if 1 others are sure to follow, maybe I just get the one done. Thanks jeepgcoman

jeepgcoman 05-10-2014 02:07 PM

Re: Tire pressure sensors 2007 WK
 
I am not positive, but I think Chrysler/Jeep got rid of the stupid system, beginning in 2008 when they switched over to 433 mhz sensors.....at least I hope so. To answer your questions though, yes, you'll probably have to bite the bullet or go to the stealer. If you purchase all the right stuff to fix it, remember it should work on any vehicle with a TPMS system....which is anything after 2006.

Regarding your left rear not showing, that may be another problem. The left rear does not have a TPMS pickup sensor/transmitter (trigger module) like the other 3 wheels. It recognizes the left rear by default....the other 3 with transmitters, so the one without has to be the left rear. Disconnecting the battery shouldn't have anything to do with this though. Usually, if you let the vehicle sit for a period of time, the message won't show up until after about 10-15 of driving. Having the continuous message is not a real problem, just a huge annoyance. It's something you can fix at your leisure, as long as you're able to get the pressures off the EVIC. Unless your mechanic has the proper equipment, and a good understanding of this stupid system, I doubt if they'd be able to help much. I know my tire place is pretty knowledgeable, and they were clueless on this system, and none of their manuals said anything about it. Also, IMO, if you're going to switch a couple sensors, I'd recommend you do them all at once. That way you shouldn't have to worry or do this again, maybe as long as you own this vehicle. Batteries are good for up to 10 years. Here's some of the info. we've talked about, copied from the FSM:

The wheel sensor ID’s and the location of each sensor (e.g. Left Front, Right Front etc.) are stored in the WCM non-volatile memory during the initial Manufacturing Plant Process, or during a service procedure, as required.

Transponders located in three of the four wheel wells of the vehicle to provide the Wireless Control Module (WCM) commonly referred to as the Sentry Key Remote Entry Module (SRKEEM) with the location of the tire pressure sensors on the vehicle. The transponders are located in the left front, right front and right rear wheel wells. A fourth transponder is not necessary in the remaining wheel well due to the process-of-elimination theory. Once the system knows the location of the first three sensors it assumes the location of the fourth tire pressure sensor is in the left rear tire.

xp29g 05-19-2014 08:44 PM

Re: Tire pressure sensors 2007 WK
 
I replaced the LF TPMS sensor in my 2005 WK 5.7, OE PN: 56053030AB 315 MHz with a used one off ebay, OE PN: 56029526AA 315 MHz and it worked perfectly. You cannot remove the stem assembly from the AA and install it on the AB sensor as it will not fit back into the wheel due to angle differences. I paid $15.00 for the used AB and my individual tire pressures are accurately displayed with no TPMS warning light. I took a chance with this setup and it worked out. The dealer wants $65.00 to program a new one, and the new one is $95.00. Good luck on what ever direction you choose to go on this.

Rkirk 05-20-2014 03:05 PM

Re: Tire pressure sensors 2007 WK
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mrjaydeeone (Post 1018181)
I'm looking to replace my sensors. 2 questions. I cross referenced parts numbers and came across these. 56029479AA from a 2011 wrangler 315 MHz. Says they will work in 05-07 grand cherokee. My current have metal valve stems. these have rubber does it matter? I noticed on wkjeeps.com 05-6 and 07 are different parts numbers. But on like dorman for example 05-7 have same number. Does it matter? Also do I need to get my wheels balances along with the tpms sensor replacement? These are the sensors I was looking to purchase Attachment 39292


Did you end up installing these? We talked about it with ya a while back and it sounded like you were advancing with the idea. I'm planning to put a set of Rubi takeoffs on my WK, all 315MHz sensors, and wanted to know for certain that you found success with them. I'm 90% confident there won't be an issue but I've read it both ways, mostly because ppl aren't understanding how the system works and communicates. Anyway, hope you got yours sorted properly, report back to us so we can know how it worked out.

mrjaydeeone 06-07-2014 12:31 PM

Re: Tire pressure sensors 2007 WK
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by xp29g (Post 1024932)
I replaced the LF TPMS sensor in my 2005 WK 5.7, OE PN: 56053030AB 315 MHz with a used one off ebay, OE PN: 56029526AA 315 MHz and it worked perfectly. You cannot remove the stem assembly from the AA and install it on the AB sensor as it will not fit back into the wheel due to angle differences. I paid $15.00 for the used AB and my individual tire pressures are accurately displayed with no TPMS warning light. I took a chance with this setup and it worked out. The dealer wants $65.00 to program a new one, and the new one is $95.00. Good luck on what ever direction you choose to go on this.

the replacement is a metal stem? Just replaced, drove and synched up?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rkirk (Post 1025333)
Did you end up installing these? We talked about it with ya a while back and it sounded like you were advancing with the idea. I'm planning to put a set of Rubi takeoffs on my WK, all 315MHz sensors, and wanted to know for certain that you found success with them. I'm 90% confident there won't be an issue but I've read it both ways, mostly because ppl aren't understanding how the system works and communicates. Anyway, hope you got yours sorted properly, report back to us so we can know how it worked out.

I haven't yet. I got caught up with some other stuff and kinda got used to the warning light LOL. But I am not going to remain happy with it. I keep hearing that it shouldn't be a problem. Just need 315MHz sensors that cross reference with our part number. The rubber stemmed ones are just a version 2 of the metal ones. Good Luck. I am also still on hoping that there is nothing else besides the sensor. As Like its been posted before about the left rear

Rkirk 06-07-2014 01:37 PM

Re: Tire pressure sensors 2007 WK
 
1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by mrjaydeeone (Post 1033856)
the replacement is a metal stem? Just replaced, drove and synched up?



I haven't yet. I got caught up with some other stuff and kinda got used to the warning light LOL. But I am not going to remain happy with it. I keep hearing that it shouldn't be a problem. Just need 315MHz sensors that cross reference with our part number. The rubber stemmed ones are just a version 2 of the metal ones. Good Luck. I am also still on hoping that there is nothing else besides the sensor. As Like its been posted before about the left rear


I installed the set of Rubi wheels and tires with 315mhz rubber stem sensors ('08-'12 wranglers used 315, '13 up is 433). They're part # 56029479AB. I haven't driven a ton yet but the little I have driven the light flashed a bit then went off. That's typical of introducing a new sensor to the system as it relearns the new ID so I'm hopeful that's what's happening. I'll know more after a few more miles though. Attachment 40782


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community