Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/)
-   -   5.7 HEMI question: MDS reset (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/5-7-hemi-question-mds-reset-7566.html)

Nick.Nevada 03-16-2010 07:44 AM

5.7 HEMI question: MDS reset
 
MULTI DISPLACEMENT SYSTEM (MDS)
must be reset if the vehicle battery
is disconnected. See your authorized dealer for service.

It is from Owner's Manual. That means "reset" in this case? Is it possible to reset MDS without dealer?

jdcollins86 03-16-2010 10:19 AM

Re: 5.7 HEMI question: MDS reset
 
good question....

555ctsv 03-16-2010 10:25 AM

Re: 5.7 HEMI question: MDS reset
 
Man maybe that's why mine was kicking on so early. I could hear it come on at like 35mph. It was coming on/going off constantly so Sunday night i just turned it off with the trinity. Drives much better now

jeepgcoman 03-16-2010 11:07 AM

Re: 5.7 HEMI question: MDS reset
 
1 Attachment(s)
This requirement was deleted and is no longer required on any Hemi engine. It is not included in subsequent years owner's manuals/shop manuals. I have an 05 Hemi Magnum and over on the LX forums there is a thread that discusses this. If you drive for about 20 miles or so it will relearn and work normally. If you want it to work sooner/longer you'll need a Superchips tuner. If you want to know when it's on you can do the MDS "ON" light mod. I came up with about 5 years ago for the LX vehicles. You can see it here under my screen name, "magnuman":
http://www.lxforums.com/articles/MDS_light.pdf The wiring and pinouts are the same. The only thing that is different is where you pull the wire through the firewall, and where you choose to mount the light. It's actually easier on the WK. Here's where I mounted mine.

rufdod 03-16-2010 11:11 AM

Re: 5.7 HEMI question: MDS reset
 
can you disable mds in an 05 hemi with a diablo predator?

tman4024 03-16-2010 11:27 AM

Re: 5.7 HEMI question: MDS reset
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rufdod (Post 170334)
can you disable mds in an 05 hemi with a diablo predator?

Yes

rufdod 03-17-2010 02:50 PM

Re: 5.7 HEMI question: MDS reset
 
i thought you could.. where is it, i cant find it in the predator at all?

tman4024 03-17-2010 08:16 PM

Re: 5.7 HEMI question: MDS reset
 
I haven't disabled it myself, but there is a way.

Have you tried looking in the quick adjust menu?
http://www.jeepgarage.org/f6/how-to-disable-mds-with-predator-4826.html

Hopefully Joe will chime in, I know he had it disabled when he had his Overland.

dsalinas 03-18-2010 04:09 PM

Re: 5.7 HEMI question: MDS reset
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tman4024 (Post 171374)
I haven't disabled it myself, but there is a way.

Have you tried looking in the quick adjust menu?
http://www.jeepgarage.org/showthread.php?t=4826

Hopefully Joe will chime in, I know he had it disabled when he had his Overland.

I have disabled it on my Flashpaq, maybe its found following the same steps. On the Flashpaq, you go to "advanced options" or "advanced tune", then choose the tune you want, then it brings you to various parameters to mess with, WOT shift points, Rev limiter, MDS disabled, etc.. Hope this helps :)

rufdod 03-18-2010 11:13 PM

Re: 5.7 HEMI question: MDS reset
 
yeah i havent seen anything in regards to MDS, i will look again thought


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community