Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK2 - (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f73/)
-   -   New Tires HELP! (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f73/new-tires-help-76485.html)

AltitudeDude 06-24-2014 10:51 AM

New Tires HELP!

Hey guys,

I have a 2012 Altitude and looking for some new tires for my stock 20" rims. I have had 2 tires patched now due to nails (new neighborhood with careless workers!) but there is a continuous leak in each that Les Schwab indicated just could not be fixed. For now, I'm rolling with them and airing up once a month, but I need a long-term solution.

I live in Boise, ID so we get weather of all types - 100+ degrees in the summer, sub-zero snow & ice in the winter, etc. I was thinking of going with Toyo AT's but they don't make a tire that fits. Another thought is BFG AT? I am an aggressive driver but want something with decent tread for our winters and if I want to take the family camping in the mountains. I'm also looking for something with decent value as we're trying to buy a new house in the near future.

Thanks for any input!!!

AAAA 06-24-2014 11:22 AM

Re: New Tires HELP!

Nokian Rotiiva AT.

AltitudeDude 06-24-2014 11:43 AM

Any specific reason why those over anything else? Are they available at most tire shops?

pinetar 06-24-2014 12:14 PM

If you're looking for a better price, new(ish) tire/tread design that performs well in most conditions, I'd look into the Cooper AT3, Hercules Terra Trac AT II or Hankook Dynapro ATM RF10. They seem to be the cheapest of the AT crowd and have much better designs than the overpriced BFG ATs, IMO. Those are just outdated and don't really do well in wet conditions, from what I've read. But that varies from person to person and forum to forum. So YMMV.

I've also read lots of good things about the Nokian brand tires, but they are kind of hard to find and a bit more pricey.

Chunderboy 06-24-2014 01:53 PM