Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Export Grand Cherokee 2011+ (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f190/)
-   -   Australian 2014 GC with DAB (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f190/australian-2014-gc-with-dab-77596.html)

seedar 07-28-2014 12:05 AM

Australian 2014 GC with DAB
 
Hi,

Just took delivery of a GC 2014 CRD and the radio has DAB. Unfortunately the DAB doesn't work, presumably because in Oz we use DAB+ ? Anyone have further insights into this ? Can it be upgraded to DAB+ ? Should Jeep have configured it as DAB+ - is it a software thing ?

thanks,
Seedar.

SNUKE 07-28-2014 07:54 AM

Re: Australian 2014 GC with DAB
 
The radio does not have DAB, the hardware is not there. Occasionally people are seeing a DAB button, usually for a day or so after a firmware update, then it goes away.

seedar 07-28-2014 07:57 AM

Re: Australian 2014 GC with DAB
 
Well its been there since delivery weeks ago and there's not only the button but DAB in setup, scan for channels, presets etc etc.......

SNUKE 07-28-2014 08:39 AM

Re: Australian 2014 GC with DAB
 
Very odd, but there is no DAB hardware in Export GC's, it is a Nth America only spec.
If you wan't the DAB icon gone to stop it from taunting you, then can try system reboot or reset:

Uconnect Reboot

Hold Mute and Tune buttons for reboot.
This makes no changes to your settings, it is just a reboot procedure.

Factory reset: Hold temp up and down buttons to access engineering menu.
This will wipe all of your personal settings and take it back to factory default. It will also load with the SRT and take several minutes to hours before it will look the same as it did before.

If that fails, the installing the Uconnect firmware yourself, 14.22.13 is the latest version.
If this isn't what you have, you can download it from the Ucoonect site - https://rsur.extra.chrysler.com/rsur/Uconnect.do

seedar 07-28-2014 06:33 PM

Re: Australian 2014 GC with DAB
 
Thanks for the info, I have gone into the engineering menu before and that has no impact - didn't realise that merely by entering the engineering menu all personal settings are lost - is that what you are saying ?

I will try a reboot and see what that does. I have taken screen dumps of all the screens where DAB shows up if there's any use seeing them ?

cheers,
Seedar.

Barboots 07-28-2014 08:53 PM

Re: Australian 2014 GC with DAB
 
I had DAB with the scan setting etc after my first update. It vanished after a reboot.

seedar 07-29-2014 05:55 AM

Re: Australian 2014 GC with DAB
 
So I did a reboot, it restarted and the DAB button was gone.....

.....For a few seconds, then it appeared again, back just as it was as though it rebooted without it and then detected the hardware and added the DAB button.

Curious !

Seedar.

SNUKE 07-29-2014 07:21 AM

Re: Australian 2014 GC with DAB
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by seedar (Post 1058216)
didn't realise that merely by entering the engineering menu all personal settings are lost - is that what you are saying ?

No, only when you do an engineering reset.
What firmware version do you have?

seedar 07-29-2014 06:38 PM

Re: Australian 2014 GC with DAB
 
Hi,

Firmware is current version 14.22.13.

Seedar.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community