Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio/Visual/Navigation (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f186/)
-   -   Subwoofer Help (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f186/subwoofer-help-77763.html)

08GC21 07-31-2014 11:19 AM

Subwoofer Help
 
I'm hoping some of you guys will be able to help with the issue I'm having..

I'm trying to install a powered sub in the back of my 08 Grand Cherokee. It has the Boston Acoustics premium audio system with the in-dash 6 disc changer. I used a line out converter behind the radio to allow for RCA inputs. I got the sub hooked up and everything works, however, if I turn the volume down on the radio, the sub does not turn down. i.e. if the volume radio is on 1.. the sub will still be playing at a standard volume.

How can I remedy this? Has anyone ran into a similar problem? I've installed several systems in the past and have not run into this..

Thanks!

dr.lee.baugh 07-31-2014 02:27 PM

Re: Subwoofer Help
 
I am sure someone with more experience will add to this, but I believe volume control with the factory HU is done through the canbus system. You may have an easier time swapping out the head unit as well.


Sent from my iPod touch using JeepGarage

jravey 08-02-2014 08:56 PM

Re: Subwoofer Help
 
You would be better off putting the LOC after the Boston amp, then you will have control over the volume.

brentwoodkris 08-13-2014 09:20 AM

Re: Subwoofer Help
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jravey (Post 1061333)
You would be better off putting the LOC after the Boston amp, then you will have control over the volume.

This is true and the easiest way to go. Not only is the cabling to the amp much shorter and easier this way, but it makes more sense if you understand the CANBUS system.

The only signals coming off the back of the headunit are CANBUS, which are all sent to the factory BA amp behind the left rear quarter panel. If you check on WKJeeps pinout diagram (see the amp section), you'll see that the CANBUS signals are brought in by the BA amp and then sent out through the outputs as standard speaker level outputs.

If you tap into the speaker level outputs (definitely do the rear speaker output as it's full-range output w/o any factory crossover - unlike the front and dash speakers), it will allow you to use the factory sound levels (as the BA amp will control the volume somewhat).

Reply back if you have any other questions. :thumbsup:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community