Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f50/)
-   -   viper 5901 install on my WJ (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f50/viper-5901-install-on-my-wj-8481.html)

mrjaydeeone 04-12-2010 12:59 AM

viper 5901 install on my WJ
 
I have a quesiton.
I am looking to pick up a viper 5901 for my 2004 WJ. Which has factory alarm system.
my friend is going to do the install for me. He installed another viper remote start alarm on my galant. And he also installed the 5901 on his galant, so I trust him to do the job right.
Do I need anything else for the install to get done besides the 5901 itself? And I am guessing the bypass for the transponder key.
I came across this. Is this anything worthwhile?
http://www.amazon.com/Essentials-XPR.../dp/B000WJ6K8U

thanks Jason
Jason

206WJ 04-13-2010 04:18 PM

Re: viper 5901 install on my WJ
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mrjaydeeone (Post 187439)
I came across this. Is this anything worthwhile?
http://www.amazon.com/Essentials-XPR.../dp/B000WJ6K8U

You will need the transponder bypass, and Yes you should get the item in the link. Everything on the WJ is through the PCI-BUS and this will make the install 5 billion times easier. You;ll only have to tap into 4 wires on the Jeep itself with it.

stephsman21 04-13-2010 05:04 PM

Re: viper 5901 install on my WJ
 
you will need DEI 455J Jeep Grand Cherokee interface module
http://cgi.ebay.com/DEI-455J-Jeep-Gr...item3351e563a3
and i though that there was 1 more module

mrjaydeeone 04-14-2010 05:57 PM

Re: viper 5901 install on my WJ
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by 206WJ (Post 188475)
You will need the transponder bypass, and Yes you should get the item in the link. Everything on the WJ is through the PCI-BUS and this will make the install 5 billion times easier. You;ll only have to tap into 4 wires on the Jeep itself with it.

Quote:

Originally Posted by stephsman21 (Post 188503)
you will need DEI 455J Jeep Grand Cherokee interface module
http://cgi.ebay.com/DEI-455J-Jeep-Gr...item3351e563a3
and i though that there was 1 more module

thanks guys. So will I need both of these?
I am confused now. I just looked at both of these and they both seem to accomplish the same thing, or am I wrong?

206WJ 04-14-2010 07:18 PM

Re: viper 5901 install on my WJ
 
Yep same thing just different maker...

Either one of those (Can-BUS adapter) and if your doing remote start you'll need another module for that too. I can't think of the name right now, sorry... 14 hour work day, and I'm tired + a little buzzed.

mrjaydeeone 04-14-2010 07:35 PM

Re: viper 5901 install on my WJ
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by 206WJ (Post 189393)
Yep same thing just different maker...

Either one of those (Can-BUS adapter) and if your doing remote start you'll need another module for that too. I can't think of the name right now, sorry... 14 hour work day, and I'm tired + a little buzzed.

I hear ya. I do 12s myself, but I am only 2.5 hours into my night.
I was told to check out bypasskit.com and came up with this
http://www.bypasskit.com/product.aspx?productid=121
would that be all I need for everything?
and yes I plan to tdo remote starter.

mrjaydeeone 04-15-2010 05:37 PM

Re: viper 5901 install on my WJ
 
I am getting more confused now. I am hoping someone can shed some more light. I was just told that I needed to get the DLPKCHG1. If I get that will I need anything else to install the 5901? A transponder key bypass or will that module take care of everything? Also now how is the install with the module compared to installing remote starter/alarm into a vehicle that didn't have one from the factory?
and a friend of mine that does installs told me to get the idatalink ads-al ca and he said that would be it, and a transponder key bypass isnt needed in addition, just needed to be flashed with the right firmware. Now I looked around for that and I am seeing that I will still need a transponder key bypass.

thanks
Jason

mrjaydeeone 05-14-2010 12:32 AM

Re: viper 5901 install on my WJ
 
ended up getting the DLPKCHG1 (looks like it is all that is needed) off Ebay the other day, already been delivered. Found a viper dealer on craigslist with a great deal on new in sealed box 5901s. I am going to pick it up next week. My friend that installed the auto roll up windows in my other car is going to do the install for me. Not charging too much either. Hopefully I get this in before the summer heat starts up. Even though with the temps we've been having lately, you would think we were in early spring here.

BDP08 05-15-2010 05:54 PM

Re: viper 5901 install on my WJ
 
that sounds cool, any videos would be awsome, ive had some trouble with the proxomity sensor being installed. something so simple but, ive decided to leave it alone untill im free and start working on my jeep again. and that is when i get it back from the rim shop.

good luck!

mrjaydeeone 05-18-2010 07:40 PM

Re: viper 5901 install on my WJ
 
thanks. I am actually going to buy the alarm tomorrow. I am going to take the module with me, gonna see what kinda deal I can get tomorrow for the it installed at that shop if I provide the module. Maybe they will give me a pretty good price, for it cash

mrjaydeeone 05-31-2010 07:14 PM

Re: viper 5901 install on my WJ
 
Forgot to update this. Went to that shop I found on craigslist and they played all sorts of games including changing the price and telling me the module I got was no good, I did walk out of there with the alarm for the price they quoted me in email. I ended up letting a friend that does installs for a living install it yesterday. Install went real smooth, with the exception of my friend not being able to get the wiring diagram for the jeep with the modul I bought, he ended up using another one he had. Was done in less then 3 hours. And is working great.
I just have a few questions for anyone that has this model.
When I have my headlights on auto, my parking lights don't flash with the remote starter, even when it is bright enough out that my headlights don't come on, is this right? When it's dark enough for headlights to come on, they come on with the parking lights, and no flashing lights. If the headlights aren't on auto the parking lights will flash.
and how accurate is the temperature on the remote? It seems a lot higher then what it actually is in jeep


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community