Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/)
-   -   DRL's (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/drls-8586.html)

John_R 04-15-2010 04:07 PM

DRL's
 
How come the WK (05 at least) did not come with DRL's (Daytime Running Lamps)? Normally, I don't care for them or whether or not a car has it, but I swear I am a cutoff magnet now; I've been cut off more in the past month than in the past 5 years driving my previous car (which had DRL but was also blue). I wonder if it's the color of the Jeep (silver), or who knows.

I saw the auto headlamps, but a) not sure if that works during the day and b) I don't like automatic things, ha ha [btw - I hate the way our driving lights' button is and doesn't stick out on its own unless you are in auto mode]...so, that's out.

I saw some people putting those LED bars on the front. At first I didn't like, but (if they were straight) I could go for something like that IF I could have it come on automatically with the ignition (and an override switch). But, wondering if anybody has made DRL's with our car, with the existing equipment (headlights)?

yes, I know I can turn on the lights, but I don't want everything else on, just the headlight(s).

JETLIFE 04-15-2010 04:10 PM

Re: DRL's
 
In Canada, They're standard, I think you can have them activated by the dealer using the scan tool. But i'm not 100%

John_R 04-15-2010 04:23 PM

Re: DRL's
 
Oh yeah, I remember it's a law up there to drive with lights on..it's actually a good idea, especially on 2-lane roads. But, even on the wide freeways here, I had better luck with them on.

Hmm, that brings up something. I wonder if there is an option in the LCD "setup menu" on the Jeep...didn't even think about that. Thanks, I'm gonna look after work. (I know there is memory entry seat on/off, etc. so why not that)

John_R 04-15-2010 04:39 PM

Re: DRL's
 
Well, I looked in the LCD menu and no such setting, then opened up the owner's manual; it has a section on DRL's (page 106), but it states "canada only". hmm, oh well. Still, like you suggest, maybe it's something that can be accessed with a scantool.

What's weird is around 1999, it seemed that most all new cars were coming with DRL's (esp GM's), but wonder if it went the way of those pesky automatic seatbelts (circa 1991).

BAH101 04-16-2010 10:24 AM

Re: DRL's
 
From reading on other forums it is dealer or starscan actuated. I think they are great, lots of people dont remember to turn lights on in the fog or low light. DRL's solve that problem

Frankie 04-16-2010 12:24 PM

Re: DRL's
 
I think if they change your country code to CANADA via the StarScan they will work...But I think that also effects some other settings too!

John_R 04-16-2010 01:07 PM

Re: DRL's
 
Thanks, guys...yeah, you're probably right. Hate to take this into the dealer though, and I bet they would look at me like an alien if I mention this :D

ttocsmij 08-20-2016 11:59 AM

Re: DRL's
 
... and? How did you make out with the dealer? Did he charge an arm and a leg / first born ... or was it free to encourage you to come back next time you need a $40K automobile? Curious minds and all that stuff.

Governor 08-20-2016 12:11 PM

Re: DRL's
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ttocsmij (Post 1316854)
... and? How did you make out with the dealer? Did he charge an arm and a leg / first born ... or was it free to encourage you to come back next time you need a $40K automobile? Curious minds and all that stuff.

The thread started in 2010. Last time OP posted was 2011. Good question though, maybe someone has an update since then.

jeepgcoman 08-21-2016 08:20 PM

Re: DRL's
 
I have an Autel DS708 diagnostic scanner and can supposedly turn the DRL's on/off on both of my DCX vehicles.....05 LX and an 06 WK. The LX was built in Canada and I was able to turn them on without any problem. The WK was built in this country and there is a menu item on the DS708 for it but it says it is the wrong Country Code and the scanner will go through the motions but they will not turn on. I've thought of changing the Code, but I am afraid it'll screw other things up. It also says that once I change it I can't change it back. Go figure!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community