Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/)
-   -   "Perform Service" but no codes? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/perform-service-but-no-codes-8839.html)

wkearney99 04-24-2010 10:42 AM

"Perform Service" but no codes?
 
I've got an '06 Limited with the Hemi and it's recently started showing the message "Perform Service" in the EVIC. I've checked the radio and all maintenance items are set for no notification. I've also checked and there are no DTC codes (3 times ignition trick). WTF? How do I find out what it thinks needs to be performed?

Chris 04-24-2010 10:44 AM

Re: "Perform Service" but no codes?
 
Probably an oil change man, skip through your menu to that screen and I bet it shows 0 miles until next oil change. You can then reset it on that screen as well by hitting the reset button and it should go back to 3000 miles or whatever it's set for.

blackpepper 04-24-2010 10:45 AM

Re: "Perform Service" but no codes?
 
yep. sometimes when you get your oil changed the techs reset it for you.

JETLIFE 04-24-2010 10:57 AM

Re: "Perform Service" but no codes?
 
hit the "step" button until you get to the service intervals screen, Then hold "reset" for about 3 seconds. Done.

EDIT: Chris beat me to it.

wkearney99 04-25-2010 09:27 AM

Re: "Perform Service" but no codes?
 
I've already gone through all the maintenance items in the radio and set them for no notification. I mentioned this. I neglected to mention that I had already gone through them all and hit reset for them, along with setting them for no notification. Otherwise I wouldn't have asked about it here. It's very odd.

JETLIFE 04-25-2010 09:58 AM

Re: "Perform Service" but no codes?
 
No, it has nothing to do with your nav. You have 4 buttons on your dash that control you EVIC settings (C/T, STEP, RESET, MENU) Using the "step" button scroll to the "service" section, then hold down the "reset" button for 3 seconds.

All you can do in the nav menu is adjust the intervals between services. For example, mine is 4800 km. When it's reset it starts counting down. When it hits 0 you get the "perform service" notification.

Chris 04-25-2010 11:15 AM

Re: "Perform Service" but no codes?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by .moneen. (Post 195722)
No, it has nothing to do with your nav. You have 4 buttons on your dash that control you EVIC settings (C/T, STEP, RESET, MENU) Using the "step" button scroll to the "service" section, then hold down the "reset" button for 3 seconds.

All you can do in the nav menu is adjust the intervals between services. For example, mine is 4800 km. When it's reset it starts counting down. When it hits 0 you get the "perform service" notification.

^^ what he said.

wkearney99 04-25-2010 03:01 PM

Re: "Perform Service" but no codes?
 
So what you're saying is the radio allows setting the values, but then the EVIC stores them separately and ignores any changes to the notification settings?

It would be nice if it'd at least say WHICH service it expects to be performed...

I'll dig through the EVIC menus and try resetting to see if that cures it.

dmsfun 04-25-2010 04:51 PM

Re: "Perform Service" but no codes?
 
The radio has nothiung to do with it; you set the service interval on the EVIC, as whomever changed the oil last did.

Chris 04-25-2010 08:31 PM

Re: "Perform Service" but no codes?
 
Yes, if your getting a message in the EVIC, then you need to correct / reset it in the EVIC using the buttons for the EVIC! Nothing to do with the radio

blackpepper 04-26-2010 12:17 PM

Re: "Perform Service" but no codes?
 
you have the nav.. the options on the nav are different and will notify you though the nav, not the instrument cluster (evic) where is says perform service.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community