Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/)
-   -   are CIRCUIT BOARD schematics available? Trying to activate switch blanks... (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/are-circuit-board-schematics-available-trying-to-activate-switch-blanks-8866.html)

JDubya 04-25-2010 11:10 AM

are CIRCUIT BOARD schematics available? Trying to activate switch blanks...
 
I have the inter-switch schematic/wiring diagram but I'm trying to find the schematic of the lower switch pod in the center stack--the one with the two heated seat switches on it (for a 2009).

Physically, it's possible to activate each of those switch blanks but because they're all tied to the same circuit board, I need to see if it's possibly electrically. Only 3 of the 7 connector pins are used [for the heated seat switches (B(+), ground, and LIN BUS)] so I was hoping I could somehow tie into the extras.

Any thoughts?

Relwarc 04-25-2010 11:57 AM

Re: are CIRCUIT BOARD schematics available? Trying to activate switch blanks...
 
well doesnt the SRT have an option for rear heated seats?

it would be safe to assume that they use the same boards, but only connect the wiring they use in the different trim levels. no?

JDubya 04-25-2010 12:15 PM

Re: are CIRCUIT BOARD schematics available? Trying to activate switch blanks...
 
The rear heated seat switches are on the back of the center console, I have those as well.

JDubya 04-25-2010 10:07 PM

Re: are CIRCUIT BOARD schematics available? Trying to activate switch blanks...
 
It's not going to work. I thought it seemed too good to be true lol Oh well.

Now I'm going to mount a PBNO (momentary) switch behind the OEM "button" so it'll still look and function like the stock switches. I'm also going to duplicate the same kind of LED "windows" as on the heated seat switches.

If anyone's interested, I'll take some pictures during the retrofit.

saleen032 04-26-2010 07:57 AM

Re: are CIRCUIT BOARD schematics available? Trying to activate switch blanks...
 
^ it is possible to do but requires some work......I was able to do it with the switch bank from a commander....basically you have to remove the switch from the board, cut some traces, remount the switch, and solder some extension wires on to it

JDubya 04-26-2010 08:33 AM

Re: are CIRCUIT BOARD schematics available? Trying to activate switch blanks...
 
mine doesnt have the kind of switches that are removable. Each "button" is just a pad of exposed intertwining traces, like this.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community