Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been going through so many discussions and haven't seen exactly what I'm looking for. I'm replacing the 5.7 Hemi in my 05 due to the dreaded valve seat drop. I'd like to go to a newer type engine, but I'm new to hemi motors and I haven't been able to find out the information I need. I know the coil packs will be different and I'm going to purchase a set of wire adapters from Modern Muscle Extreme, apparently they are plug and play. I'm unaware of any intake issues. What I'm most concerned about is the cam and VVT and if they will interfere with the PCM. That being said, I do have a Diablo Sport Trinity 2 that accepts custom tunes.

Any ideas and am I missing anything?

Thanks for any help, because I sure need it.

·
Registered
2006 WK Overland
1,809 Posts
Welcome to the forum. While going from the early Hemi to a VVT Hemi is possible, it will be a frustrating experience UNLESS you have a donor vehicle to switch/rob parts from. The electronics, electrical plugs, PCM, emissions components and so on are all different. If your engine is completely wasted, you can use 2004-2008 Hemi's and use your parts as needed to make it work. Most dropped valve seats occurred on the 05-06's and a few 07's. There is a gent. on one of these forums that overheated his 08 last year and just recently apparently dropped a valve seat.......the first 08 I've heard of. My recommendation is to fix your 05 and hop it up a little while you're at it. A mild cam, a good header back exhaust system and a good tune can get you about 100 more horsepower and 20+% better fuel economy.