Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 13 5.7l is currently getting about 10mpg, compared to the 16-17 I got when I first bought it. I’m new to engines and such, what are some things I can change/clean to help increase the mpg

·
Registered
8 Posts
My 13 5.7l is currently getting about 10mpg, compared to the 16-17 I got when I first bought it. I’m new to engines and such, what are some things I can change/clean to help increase the mpg
How many miles are on the vehicle? Have you checked the engines air filter?

·
Registered
Grand Cherokee
3,132 Posts
As well as the Air Filter (a big one, if your's is clogged, and if its never been changed, just go out and buy one and replace it)...

Open your O.M. or download an .pdf copy if you don't have one, review the maintenance schedule and catch the vehicle up on the overdue maintenance....

Spark Plugs worn out will drop mileage also, the change interval for the pre-'14 Hemi is 32k miles. Yes, lots of people report going well over that and not suffer the symptoms of worn out plugs, like poor fuel mileage.... ....when I changed my plugs at the recommended 32k mi interval, they looked like they only had a 1k mi on them, the gap was exactly the same as new.... ....but if you haven't changed the spark plugs yet, well you're approaching 3 times over the recommended change, that could reduce your mileage, power and make the engine rougher running....

Do you have a check engine light? They put that there for a reason, even if you don't, check for stored trouble codes and try to correct them.....