Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a '99 WJ with only 56K miles on it. bought it last week. I have noticed that there is a definite clunk from the rear after stopping while still in drive. I have the 4.7 V8 and Quadra TracII. I am new to this system. The clunk occurs after being stopped for about 5 seconds but the time lapse varies from two seconds to about 20 seconds. The clunk doesn't happen at any other time. When it does happen I can feel it as well as hear it.
Any info would be appreciated.
Thanks

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Re: Clunk in Read Differential

I'm rethinking the noise and it may be the transfer case I suppose and My hearing is not that great. I just can't figure out what could be making the clunk noise after the car has come to a complete stop and has been idling at a stop light for several seconds since nothing should be moving. Makes no sense to me. The clunk noise does not happen if I shift into neutral before I come to a complete stop and doesn't happen when I put the trans back into gear.

·
The beast from Brazil
8,310 Posts

Thinking about it, i had something alike happening after my transmission rebuild. It was finally the transmission shifting from 1st gear into 2nd gear with the jeep standing still.
There are 5 pressure switches in the TRS/solenoid assy which are used as a feedback signal to the TCM. When the TCM selects a gear, the pressure switch shows the TCM that the pressure is there.
If the signal is not received, the TCM thinks that 1st gear (in this case) is not selected and it will take 2nd gear instead. This shift is felt as a clunk, due to the releasing of one clutch and then applying of an other clutch. On my jeep the fault was with one of the pressure switches.