Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm working on my Stepdaughters 2011 Compass with 2.4 liter engine. I got code P0335 which is Crankshaft Position Sensor and the car goes into Limp Mode once it's warmed up. I'm trying to change the sensor but today after trying to go from above the engine after removing the engine cover, airbox and intake scoop, I still couldn't get a wrench on, or even see the 13mm bolt holding the bottom of the thin heatshield. I could get my hand on it. After enough trying i stopped for today and decided to enjoy a rare warm day.

Can anyone tell me if going from under the car is easier ? I saw one video that said that's the way to go. Or alternatively, are there any links to good videos showing the procedure. I haven't found any that really show the process with any clarity.

I'm a BMW guy. I've changed pretty much everything on those engines including the engine itself so I'm not a newbie with the wrenches. Transverse engines are just a PITA.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I'm posting just to update this and maybe help someone in the future.
Today we put the car up on ramps and removed the lower plastic protective plate (6 10mm bolts and two plastic push rivets on either side at the top of the wheel well) to try to remove the bolts on the thin aluminum heat shield covering the sensor from below. What we realized is that the video we've seen which shows someone going in through the bottom is on a two wheel drive model and mine is all wheel drive. It's almost impossible to see anything from the bottom. So... back to the top.