Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone. I'm looking for some clarification on the towing with a 2014/2015 GC EcoDiesel 4wd. I looked and searched through the site but still wasn't completely sure. I am new to the Jeep world. The wife and I have been looking at getting one in the very near future but I can't seem to get a clear answer on towing. I have looked all over and called a few places and seem to get different answers. Last night I found the WK2Jeeps site with the manuals and things. To me it looks like all of the EcoDiesels with the OEM tow hitch installed are rated to tow 7200lbs. With one I was looking at the dealer said it was only rated for 5200lbs. Then I called another dealer and was told all of them are 6200lbs, which makes me think they were looking at the 3.6L V-6 instead, but then I even called Jeep with a VIN and was told it came with the factory Class-IV 10,000 hitch but was only rated to 6,200lbs. I can't seem to find a clear answer. Does it make a difference on the towing if it has the QL Air Suspension over traditional on how much it can tow? I was originally planning to go without the Air Suspension since a lot of people seem to say stay away from it. Most of the driving will be highway to and from work (150 ish miles a day) but want the ability to tow a 20-22 ft camper and maybe a little off roading here and there. Should I be trying to skip the Air Suspension? I would get the warranty if possible but I'm not sure if I am able to add it on now due to the year based on what I found on the Mopar MaxCare site. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

·
Registered
2016 WK2 Summit EcoD
226 Posts
When in doubt, go to the manufacturer. The tire and payload capacities per year, trim, engines, and drive type are listed there for multiple years.

Reactions: echo7tango

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3