Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I don’t have a GC yet, but my wife and I are likely going to pick one up soon. I’m new to this platform, but I’m a car guy and somewhat handy under the hood... I’m just doing some snooping and research in the wk2 platform. All we need is the 5.7 and the tow package.
We’re planning on towing the m3 and bring our two german shepherds.
I track an m3 and I have a solid axle Nissan Frontier for off-roading (pics for attention)

We test drove a 5.7 the other night and really liked it. I'm already looking for a few basic mods- afe intake and flowmaster catback. Other than that, i think i'll leave it alone. i might have to put the truck on a sawzall diet, but the 5.7 will tow the m3 no problem. i'm looking forward to sticking around and posting some DIY stuff (DIY content seems to be lacking somewhat around here).
I spend a lot of time on forums and the local car scene. looking forward to becoming an owner.

Attachments

·
Registered
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk
229 Posts
Welcome. I've owned a '18 V6 and now a '19 V8 so if you have any questions let me know. V8 is by far the better choice from a motor/transmission IMO and the V8 barely loses out on mpg plus I hated the V6 tranny.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks! one of the things i'm sort of thinking about is if the class 4 hitch could have been ordered without the tow package... if i'm going to be towing, i definitely want the oil/trans coolers. i just don't want to get one with the hitch and not the coolers.
i suppose i could just look for the coolers, but sometimes they aren't easy to find- i'm not familiar with this platform at all.
i was pretty impressed with how much power it had (i'm sure the 8 speed has something to do with it). we also test drove a porsche cayenne gts and we were pretty underwhelmed with the power even though it was rated to tow 7,700 lbs.

·
Registered
229 Posts