Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I have been browsing for a while but this is my first time posting.

About 3-4 months ago I got two new tires (goodyear all terrain with kevlar) versus four- I know this is not advised but two of them were fine, and two were completely worn. In either case, I went ahead and got the other two just a couple of weeks ago, which were installed in the front. Now all 4 tires are fairly new, but the front ones are newer. While I was at it, I got an alignment as well.

Previous to my newest front two tires, the car handled very well in most circumstances and I was very much comfortable driving however suddenly the car tends to oversteer at higher speeds, mostly on right hand turns only. I took it back to the shop, and my mechanic seemed stumped as if he could not understand what I was explaining, but it seems pretty straight forward to me. It is almost like the tires find a groove and over cut turns, so naturally I have to counter that which can be scary at high speed ntm it puts me on edge while driving. I am stumped that he was stumped. He said maybe it was something loose in the suspension?

Is this just the new tires gripping more than I am used to? Should I put the newer tires in the rear? They aren't even that much newer than the rear ones.. It is a factory 2016 with the quadra trac suspension/lift etc if that matters. Any insight is appreciated!

·
Registered
538 Posts
Hi all, I have been browsing for a while but this is my first time posting.

About 3-4 months ago I got two new tires (goodyear all terrain with kevlar) versus four- I know this is not advised but two of them were fine, and two were completely worn. In either case, I went ahead and got the other two just a couple of weeks ago, which were installed in the front. Now all 4 tires are fairly new, but the front ones are newer. While I was at it, I got an alignment as well.